We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Exhibit”

Dockyard Apprentice
Ranked #33 of 127 things to do in Portsmouth
Attraction details
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Interesting Exhibit”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Situated in Portsmouth Dockyard this is an interesting free exhibit which is well worth a visit. Although it is only about 15 to 20 minutes to see everything it is well worth looking at.

Helpful?
Thank Normieb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A good educational idea”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a sort of mini-museum where you walk through and learn what a shipyard apprentice would have to know through the ages. It is rewarding if you are into social anthropology, or come across tools and machines you used at school.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lhscontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“closed but still on the website”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were looking forward to visiting this exhibit as part of our day at the Dockyard. We were very sorry to see that it was closed. Not just closed for the day, but the space looked empty! The gift shop next to it was still open, and when we asked about the Apprentice exhibit, all we got was a shrug and "it's closed." Why it still comes up on the website several weeks later is a mystery to me.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falaise, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

A lovely visit. I really enjoyed it. I was born in the area and it brought back memories of my youth. It showed ordinary people's lives and work.

Helpful?
Thank rebecalvanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“apprentice”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Not much happening really, went through in about 5 mins. Needs more about the real life of becoming an apprentice and serving your time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockyard Apprentice also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Dockyard Apprentice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing