We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #115 of 810 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the village of Horndean, the Red Lion serves a diverse seasonal menu of freshly cooked, classic British pub dishes. We're proud of our homely and welcoming atmosphere and broad selection of drinks, including tempting wines, well kept beers and refreshing soft drinks. Plus, we're situated close to Charles Dickens' birthplace and St John's Cathedral - perfect for days out. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food, served promptly as requested due to a prior engagement. Matthew really helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank peterkU464ZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Top service again at the red lion we had a lovely family meal. Matthew was amazing. Very helpfull and friendly

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were served by Matthew.Frienly engaging.Food good .No fAults found will return if in the area again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely meal tonight at the Red Lion. Our server Matthew was attentive and cheerful. We especially liked his Christmas jumper!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very good meal, well cooked and served. Waiter Matthew was excellent. Attentive, very positive and efficient.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank banyardmg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Horndean, Waterlooville
Horndean, Waterlooville
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing