We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson
Ranked #5 of 117 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Its free! Underground tunnel and more than we expected- spent more time here than the Naval Museum that charges, and this place iS FREE!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigel h, General Manager at Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review - the whole team really appreciate visitors reviews - and enjoy it even more when its a 5* one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    206
    29
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Guns, Guns & More Guns”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

It is the home of the Royal Arsenals Big Gun collection,housed in a Palmerston Fort one of a series built along Portsdown Hill, and out into the the sea, you can see those out in the channel from this Fort. You are lead through the reasons why the Fort was built, how it was built and manned, where and how the Garrison lived. You enter through the Foyer & shop, the cafe is recommended for light lunches. The first Gun Hall is a WW11 German 88 & the English equivalent, also a bit of Saddam's super gun. Eventually you travel through the whole range held in what would have been the barracks,through from the WW11 to Tudor guns, it takes time, don't take the wife, mine leaves me there and gets through numerous coffee's, because you will eventually arrive at the parade ground, where more update big guns etc await you. My grandsons (8&12) love it, then you get to go down the tunnels past the powder magazines, brilliant for scary noises & I get to explain to the boys why it was built facing inland ???, I will leave the reason why for you to find out. It does takes time, it is free, my GS's & I go quite often, look for the firing programme and other events through the year, it is brilliant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chevalier9732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigel h, General Manager at Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review - really pleased that you and your grandchildren enjoy visiting! If they might enjoy learning Victorian parade & gun drills make sure you pay us a visit during the easter holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lots to see, room to run around, all free”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Royal Armouries has a ton of interesting stuff to see, from an Iraqi supergun to a variety of tiny to huge cannon. It's very child friendly, with loads of room to run around and explore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JWLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Masses to see; something for everyone and free to boot”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Well worth half a day of anyone's time at any point in the year. Whether interested in military history or not, there's lots of interest here including artillery (with a daily firing of a field gun at 1300 hours), casemates, barrack blocks, guard room, tunnels and magnificent views of both Portsmouth Harbour and the South Downs. A good cafe too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Swetrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good Museum”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had an idea of what this museum is about and when we looked around it was way better than we had thought. At midday they fire an artillery gun - awesome! On other days they fire some of the other weapons. Some of these guns are huge - really huge. There is something for everyone with plenty of interactive exhibits to keep old and young happy and there are tunnels to explore. There is so much to see that we can easily imagine that you would have to go back again. Its hard to believe that all this is free. Top marks!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigel h, Manager at Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Many thanks for the great review! So glad you enjoyed your visit - we are hoping to have a wide range of events, activities & differing gun-firings during 2014 so watch this space! Look forward to seeing you at the Fort again I hope! Best wishes, Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing