We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Not just Guns

Even if like me and do no expect to be interested in armoury think again. Yes, it is full of... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
vaughanpo62dr
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Always a great place to visit

We have been coming here for many years and each time we come we find something new. The... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
nbennett480
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,163 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portsmouth
from $18.00
More Info
from $13.10
More Info
from $44.90
More Info
Reviews (1,163)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveler rating
830
277
39
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
830
277
39
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gun firing free entry super gun live firing artillery pieces parade ground poppy display iraqi supergun portsdown hill well worth a visit free attraction assault course military history few hours all ages excellent cafe gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Even if like me and do no expect to be interested in armoury think again. Yes, it is full of "boys toys" some of which really bring home the horror of the devastation they cause but the exhibition is exceptional. A perfect setting in the old fort with spectacular views across the Solent and a great café. There are tunnels to explore, fun for kids of all ages. As a birthday gift to my husband I purchased a ticket for him to fire one of the guns. Needless to say it was a wonderful event. Entry to the Armouries is free but you do pay to park.

Thank vaughanpo62dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We have been coming here for many years and each time we come we find something new.

The collection on funds are amazing with the historical information excellent.

Since the new entrance has opened the experience has increased.

Thank nbennett480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Used to drop in reasonably frequently just to use the cafe as it was so good. visits will be less frequent now as it costs £3 to park. Nice move HCC!

Thank dumplingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigel h, Manager at Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello - many thanks for your review and comment - I thought I ought to clarify that HCC (Hampshire County Council) are not responsible for the charge so I'm sorry that you are disappointed with the charge but it's not their fault! The site is operated by the Royal Armouries as a free museum and we have introduced the charge to partly recompense for the significant costs associated with the matting laid in the car park. However there is a loyalty card within the café for regular visitors that allows a free pass for the car park after the loyalty card is completed. The free pass is available for off peak (week-days & non school holidays). I do hope that this will assist you to visit us again and I do apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

A lovely place to visit especially with children. Safe for children to run around the grounds. Great cafe worth a visit.

Thank aandmburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Located atop Ports down Hill overlooking Portsmouth Harbour and Gosport, the view alone is worth the visit, but enter the Royal Armouries and see some of the weapons that have been fitted to various warships over the years.
Be astonished at their size and explosive power, and if you are lucky get into conversation with one of the naval veterans we encountered on our visit, had grown ups and children enthralled with some of their stories.
To complete the day / weekend a visit to the Naval Dockyard and venture onboard Nelsons warship HMS Victory and marvel at life and munitions in the old days.

Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We have been to the fort on many occasions, and have never been disappointed. Be you young or old there is something for all. 2 of our grandchildren live in London and every time they visit they always ask "can we go up the fort". If you haven't made a visit may i suggest you do, your'll be surprised how much you will enjoy it,

1  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just £3 to park and no admission charge. Lots to see. Yes, mostly guns (obvs) but also other exhibits too. Still undergoing renovation and extension but already much to see. The guide in the main hall was enthusiastic, so a guided tour may be a good idea. Guns from all eras from bronze canons to Iran's 'super gun'. Good views, excellent value.

Thank Ms_Chissock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been to the fort many times, but this is the first time we went for an afternoon tea. The experience was fantastic. You have it in the officers mess and the food was excellent. Debbie and Jane look after you and were very attentive. Would highly recommend this.

Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This really is a great day out for anyone and everyone whether you're a family or a solo adventurer. The fort is free entry and there is a small charge for parking if you want to use their car park however there is free parking on the opposite side of the road otherwise. This place offers fantastic views, good historical knowledge and lots of displays depending on the day you go. It is a great day out and I would recommend this to everyone and anyone!

Thank scottadroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not been to Fort Nelson for many years. What a fabulous surprise, such a change. Parked the car and first thing was the visitor centre, shop and cafe. Paid our £3 to park, then as others have said its free! But we had great home made sandwiches and drinks before we started, so many interesting items, well displayed but more importantly explained. Had to see the railway gun, plus looking at the interior displays of life in one of Palmerstone's forts. See some of the photos! .

Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews