We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alex 22nd birthday”
Review of Yonkers - CLOSED

Yonkers
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PO5 3LT
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alex 22nd birthday”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Would just like to say a big thank you to the staff at Yonkers who catered for 25 people to celebrate Alex's birthday on 20th November 2013. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and considering how many they had to cater for, we did not have too long a wait for the food, and the food was very tasty.

Thank you Yonkers, once again a very enjoyable night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    76
    42
    25
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food. Excellent service”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Absolutely amazing, I cannot remember the last time I ate this well. The Ribs for starter were melt in the mouth and so good, the whitebait crunchy and tasty. Both steaks were cooked to perfection and the service was attentive without being imposing, the manager even stopped by to ask if we had enjoyed our meal. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night with 2 friends , it wasn't busy at all. This was our second visit here and this were different !! Not bad different just different. We booked for 930 and were seated quickly , drinks were ordered and we ordered our starters. I had tiger prawns again which were delicious last time , this time they were fine but arrived whole in shells (not that that bothered me) but that wasn't the same as last time. Whitebait & Pate's very moreish. We all had the puled beef rib that was served with a small salad and chips , it really was lovely but needed a sauce (onion gravy would have been fab) as it all got a bit dry eventually. Well cooked and attentive attention although it took me 3 attempts to gat a jug of water. When we left at 10pm there was only one other table occupied which was weird for a Saturday night !!!!!!!!!!! We wold definitely go back at some stage ...................... £65 for 4 people including drinks was good value !!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Codmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice suprise in Southsea”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stopped here because it was open at 5pm, at first glance it looks a bit fast foodish, what a surprise when you see the menu... and even bigger surprise when you get the food. It is very good. You can have fast food if you wish but there are other things on the menu - I have eaten lobster there twice and they might be the best one lobsters have had - certainly very large and very nicely cooked. Service is good, prices reasonable. We will eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsahq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited on Saturday night. It was very quiet. The initial service was welcoming but that's about it. We had booked a table for four people. The starters came out one at a time and was about 5 mins between the first and last coming. We then waited about 30 mins for the main course. The side orders came 5 minutes before the first of the mains, which again came out one at a time with a good few minutes between first and last. 3 of us ordered the steak and it was like chewing leather. Also the plates were very hot and far to big for the food and table. All in all it was a very strange and disappointing experience which we will not be repeating

Helpful?
Thank Matthewlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yonkers also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing