We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We couldn't really fault this 'boutique' hotel. Staff were very friendly, our room was huge and the bed extremely comfortable. We will definitely stay here, or at one of the sister hotels, again. Compared with the chain hotels Sea La Vie proves you can have elegance and service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for your delightful review! We are pleased that you found the hotel to be elegant and a reasonable price compared with chain hotels. We are committed to providing our guests with an excellent boutique experience and we are glad to hear that you “couldn’t really fault” the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with The Mercer Collection. Many thanks and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 371 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at this 'hotel' for a night, whilst we were in town to watch a concert. The place was not what was expected when we arrived; three converted houses next to each other, one with the Reception ( which required ringing the door bell to enter), one housing our breakfast room and the other housing our room.

On arrival, the Receptionist had no recollection of my having booked with them. Turns out they were missing a 'tab' out of their booking schedule, which can be described best as a handwritten piece of paper in a box file. Granted a hotel does not need a sophisticated booking system, but one that works would be a bonus.

The house we were staying in was immaculate; not a speck of dirt anywhere in a modern and stylish abode. Our room was number 5; at the top of Sea La Vie which was decorated superbly. The toilet and shower were fantastic and modern. he bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

The staff were largely inattentive at breakfast. We seated ourselves and were not asked for tea, coffee or toast, which were unavailable as part the average buffet on offer.

All in all, not a bad stay, but would expect a bit more organisation and service from a boutique as expensive as this.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SteveFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night faultless service, accommodating and attentive staff could not fault room was lovely and bed very comfortable.
Breakfast was a delight as although not residents we were joined by my daughter mother a 2 friends staff considered our every need in the delightful dining room. Will definitely be sampling the evening menu.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! It makes us really happy to read that you found the service “faultless” as well as the staff accommodating and attentive. We hope you will return and try our restaurant, thanks again for your feedback it is greatly appreciated, we are looking forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were delighted with this elegant little hotel, part of a group of 'boutique' hotels adjacent to each other. The room was beautifully decorated and roomy, as was the bathroom. A very short walk to the sister hotel where we had a most delicious dinner - and breakfast the next morning. As always, good staff are essential and we were so impressed by the care and attention from our hosts. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Spent a long weekend here earlier in the month. As a frequent guest of the Mercer Group, I was not at all disappointed with this latest addition to their collection. Extremely quiet and peaceful location, and as the restaurant and reception are both a couple of doors along at Florence House, there is much less noise within the building as well.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique. If you have specific requirements, I would suggest booking on the tele...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is lovely and clean and comfortable. The rooms were very well decorated. The walk in shower is lovely and roomy. The staff were really really friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect for a short walk to Southsea Centre for restaurants and only 1 Street away from the seafront. Breakfast was delicious and it was buffet style so you can eat as much as you like and the food was of a high standard, good quality sausage and bacon. Thank you so much for a wonderful overnight stay :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharley2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Previously I have stayed at the hotel group's big sister hotels - this one was equally comfortable if a little quirky
Having to check in at one hotel and getting shuttled down the street is a little odd, but the room itself very comfortable
A slightly over soft bed was nevertheless very comfortable
Only down sides were the lack of a proper wardrobe and the lack of central heating during a chilly night
Breakfast in the neighbouring hotel was excellent with the smoked salmon extra tasty

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank BruceHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
917 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 6 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Sea La Vie)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $93 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel, part of The Mercer Collection . All rooms have been furnished with lavish fabrics and are all en suites. Tea and Coffee facilities are available in the room. Free parking and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing