We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting the highest standard for all other B&B's to aspire to.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
West Country
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Setting the highest standard for all other B&B's to aspire to.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Big warm welcome from Eileen, with a lovely tea tray on arrival. Stayed in the Golden Sands room, to the front of the house. Based in a quiet residential area (no problems at all), we used it as a base for visiting all the Naval Museums including The Mary Rose and Marines Museum. Eileen has such a great local knowledge, suggesting places to eat and local amenities. The room was really clean and the white towels plentiful, very soft and fluffy. Very comfy superking bed and large shower room. Given a tea tray everyday, with each time Eileen providing us with a new sweet treat, from cake to lovely biscuits. What was a really great touch was having a fridge upstairs,close to our room, so we could put in food/drink etc if we ate out during the day and fancied a night in. Breakfast was great, her whisky porridge should be eaten to be believed! Other half enjoyed very good full English with good quality sausages and bacon. Good selection of fresh fruits, yoghurt and cereals, and breads to toast. I cannot speak highly enough of the owners, in particular Eileen's attitude towards her customers, and would go as far as classing her as a new found friend. If you want an independent B&B, putting money into the local businesses of Portsmouth, then I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. However, if you want a "big business corporate" take, on overnight stays and breakfast, with the same style rooms and food, wherever you go in the UK, then book another venue and leave this excellent one to us please!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    51
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
219
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Eileen and her daughter made us so welcome. The bed was so comfy it was hard to get up in the morning. The breakfast was huge and delicious. The decor was superb and has given us ideas for home. The purpose for visiting Portsmouth was to see the Mary Rose exhibition and we were not disappointed It is well worth a visit and as we couldn't,t see it all in one visit we will definitely return within a year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margarets508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staying just for one night we were greeted with the door being opened for us before we'd even rang the bell, with a very enthusiastic Eileen making us feel comfortable immediately, this was our first stay at a guest house. A warm aromatic smell drifted through the Edwardian property with lovely period features throughout.
Entering the room I was pleasantly surprised at the elegant way in which it was furnished and the all round cleanliness of both the room and en-suite facility. All the facility of a room at your local Holiday Inn with much more, so interesting!
Breakfast was lovely, nice selection and again very pleasant surroundings in the themed dining room.
I say congratulations and thank you to Eileen and her team for the hard work that it must take to have created and keep this guest house in the traditional guest house style.
My tip would be if you want a Holiday Inn or Premier Inn experience go there!!
Thanks again.
Phil and Sue

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Eileen and team made us feel like part of the family - even baking soda bread for Dad's birthday! Great location (really good, reasonably priced restaurants short walks away). I would definitely stay there again if I go back to Portsmouth (a location I also thought surpassed expectations).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we stayed with Eileen at her BEAUTIFUL home for my birthday weekend booked by my boyfriend who works at Portsmouth, it was all a big surprise, and what a surprise it was!! after travelling down from Durham to visit i couldn't have asked for anything more. a bunch of roses, chocolates and a bottle of prossecco all waiting for me. Eileen and her daughter where both absolutely lovely and made us both feel right at home. their house is stunning and we really wanted to take the bed home it was sooo comfy! we could not fault our 2 night stay at all both the full English breakfast and the pancakes where AMAZING and afternoon tea was soooo yummy!! Eileen made me a very tasty birthday cake too which came out with a sparkler (such a nice touch). we would certainly return to Sea-La-Vie and have highly recommended it to friends and family!! Thank you sooo much Eileen you made our stay.
Tom & Amie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApTl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I returned to Sea-La-Vie for a second time during a recent business trip. Wish l could have stayed longer! My room was spotlessly clean, decorated beautifully in Shabby Chic style furnishings & the bed was heavenly comfortable. Breakfast was cooked exactly as l requested & served on fine bone china. Such attention to detail!!!.
Eileen & Jannika thank you for making my stay unforgettable once again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferris2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a very pleasant night at this B&B found Eileen very welcoming, she provided us with tasty home made scones and cream on our arrival. The room was clean and bed very comfortable, towels and sheets spotless. Breakfast was fantastic so much choice and all fresh we loved the décor of the whole place so much character and Eileen herself was such a lovely character. Thank you. Anita & Tony

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
649 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 6 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Sea La Vie)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel, part of The Mercer Collection . All rooms have been furnished with lavish fabrics and are all en suites. Tea and Coffee facilities are available in the room. Free parking and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing