We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation in Porstmouth/SouthseaI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just back from a wonderful two night stay in Sea La Vie for our son's Graduation and what a fantastic time we had in Eileen's beautiful house. The moment I walked in the door I fell in love with this place. Beautiful cosy room and Eileen dished up scrumptious cooked breakfast with fresh Irish Soda Bread straight from the oven. Just a two minute walk to the sea and a short stroll to all that Portsmouth has to offer. Eileen is just so lovely I have made a friend for life. We had a great chat in her beautiful garden sipping the lovely Ice Tea she made specially for us. I recommend to anyone planning on taking a trip to stay nowhere else it's absolutely fantastic. Can't wait to go back. XX Anne & Micheal

Room Tip: 'The Aqua Room' ............Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rivendell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 390 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Sea-La-Vie for the weekend for my wife's birthday as I'd got tickets for the Mary Rose exhibition. If you're looking for somewhere different to stay, with a lovely warm welcome, then this is it! From the moment Eileen greeted us at the door, I knew I'd picked the right place. The house is an eclectic mix of interesting décor and objects, and the breakfast room is fabulous. Our room was decorated in the same fashion, with a comfortable bed, and en-suite in the corner. The breakfast(s) were superb, delivered with tea in a big, classic teapot. The attention to detail is excellent. When Eileen found out it was my wife's birthday, she first scolded me (with a grin) for not telling her, then produced a cake the following morning, singing happy birthday! It's work noting that whilst there are no tea making facilities in the room, Eileen is happy to make tea for you during the day, and supplied us with a naughty chocolate biscuit too! Great location for the attractions of Portsmouth. You can park outside with a permit which Eileen supplies. A most enjoyable weekend. We will return.

Room Tip: Room at the top is quiet, smaller than the others, but still perfectly adequate for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent just one night, but feel we have known Eileen for years she is a great host and serves a fantastic breakfast with her Irish wit. We had room 4 at the top, not massive with a small onsuite ideal for a short stay, but if you were staying for a period you may want to have one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is a treasure in a beautiful part of England. From the moment we arrived until we left, our hostess Eileen could not do enough for us. We were welcomed with a big smile and a lovely cup of tea.
We stayed in a super king size room. It was spacious, very tastefully decorated and the king bed was very comfy fitted with delicious quality sheets The breakfast was fresh and tasty, and served with lovely fresh breads and fruit each morning. You could order a full Englsh Breakast or Eileen would adjust if you wanted a little less. Information and tips on good dining and eateries in the local area was readily provided along with sightseeing information. Highly recommended and we will be back. Wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights.

The street was quiet with parking available although it was delightful to take yourself for walk through the neighbourhood and up to the local eateries. Eileen is a gem and we shared many laughs.

Mike and Lynne Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: We stayed in the Super King Room, Chambre 3 - Golden Sands, overlooking the road with a generous bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and myself have just returned from 2 nights at this magnificent B&B, and wholeheartedly, recommend it. Eileen and Jannika are full of life, fun and energy and out to please.

Our Room, The Neptune was of a very high comfortable standard with a spacious bath/shower room and decorated so beautifully.

The breakfast was to die for, I just couldn't get enough of the scrambled egg and salmon on a muffin .. yumm!!

Outside was the most perfect 'lazing' area where we spent a several hours laughing and relaxing.

Location for us was spot on. We walked to Gunwharf which is around 30-40 minutes and the Prom was only 5 minutes walk away.

We will definitely return! :o))

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildmollyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Can not fault Eileen and her home, such a beautiful place with everything u could ask for. Room was perfect and the bed was to die for, sooooo comfortable. Eileen is such a marvellous lady through and through, so glad there was a cancellation!
Perfect location also for the lovely walks after a night or day out
Thank you xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed in Neptune which was elegant and showed interior design flair. Bed was comfy, free Wifi and breakfast had a good choice. Eileen and Jannika were very friendly and helpful, recommending places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libraryfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
688 reviews
1.5 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
960 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
699 reviews
1.5 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 6 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Sea La Vie)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $77 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel, part of The Mercer Collection . All rooms have been furnished with lavish fabrics and are all en suites. Tea and Coffee facilities are available in the room. Free parking. The Hotel is next door to the group's Fine Dining restaurant The Kitchen and The Florence Arms Gastro Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing