We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
Book In Advance
More Info
$365.03*
and up
Portsmouth Historic Dockyards and HMS Victory Tour from London
Ranked #1 of 117 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Mary Rose Museum is home to the Mary Rose and the thousands of artefacts that were recovered from the Solent. Built between 1509 and 1511, The Mary Rose was one of the first ships able to fire a broadside, and was a firm favourite of King Henry VIII. After a long and successful career, she sank accidentally during an engagement with the French fleet in 1545. Her rediscovery and raising were seminal events in the history of nautical archaeology. After a 34 year conservation project, the Mary Rose is now fully on display within her purpose-built museum.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“awesome!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just opened on May 31st and it is spectacular! Great artifacts and information. Absolutely worth the price of admission.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,708
    439
    121
    41
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a great way to spend a day, the weather playing it's part, We walked around the Dockyard seeing various attractions, including the Victory, Nelson's flag ship, 2 current Navel vessels, and many more from different periods of British Navel history.
The number 1 being the Mary Rose Museum a truly magnificent building, and when inside the way the display has been set out stimulates all the senses , from the ship itself to the various artefacts on show. There was also several interactive video's providing information about the finding and rising of the ship along with the chance to try and pull a long bow, anything but easy.
I can't stress how excellent a day we had, there are several places to get a hot or cold drink plus a snack, we had fish & chips sat over looking the Solent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank glenrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Dark and gloomy”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well, after all the hype and expense of the new building, I was expecting something pretty amazing. However - it's generally dark and gloomy, making it a daunting place for young children to visit. This gives the general impression that it was designed with seniour school groups in mind, not young families.

The old museum had a large glass window running the length of the ship - but for some reason, it's now only possible to catch limited glimpses through a series of small windows - again making it harder to include small children (though I admit that some windows are placed low enough for them to use). Then there is a big deal made of the wonderful view available from the glass sided lift as you travel up the side of the ship - eh? Why not just let us all enjoy the wider view all the time as we used to??

The displays of artifacts are better than before, and the use of perspex is well done. However, interactive parts for ytoung children are more limited than before and there is a feeling that those with a buggy in tow are not welcome - though that may just have been us getting unlucky with the others visiting that day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 639AnnaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The building is lovely, simulating going through the boat, with the wreck one side and relics around it. The relics were amazing and really well presented. Some areas were a bit crowded at times making it harder to read info but It was such a good place to visit again, 23 odd years after the first time I saw it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallylully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
275 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful day out, we had a Harbour Tour to begin, then our allocated time slot to view the Mary Rose,it will take another 4 years to dry out but what an amazing sight to see something over 400 years old, really worth a visit, we can visit again within a year with the same ticket, so fully intend to do so.
It was Armed Forces Day so there was plenty of things gong on around the dockyard.Everyone very friendly and helpful.
A good day out,easy parking near by and well sign posted.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing