We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,528)
Filter reviews
1,528 results
Traveler rating
298
609
402
148
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
298
609
402
148
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gunwharf quays great location car park historic dockyard spinnaker tower per day bars and restaurants shopping centre stayed at the holiday inn hotel entrance parking ticket the breakfast area hms victory train station hotel guests breakfast was included basic hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,528 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve stayed in a nearby Holiday Inn & that was great. This one isn’t. The bed was unbelievably uncomfortable & small! The tap in the bathroom had been broken and glued (badly) back together. The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor through a gap in the cubicle. And the side we stayed in had a lot of outside noise coming through until very late. All in all very disappointing.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Charlie7635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Charlie7635,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I want all your Holiday Inn lodging experiences to be great, and I am sorry your recent one fell short due to the condition of the bathroom and bed condition. I have shared your comments with the hotel management, to ensure thorough and regular inspection of the rooms. I trust that measures taken will avoid similar issues from happening again. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience.

I hope you stay with us again!

Best regards,

Clayton G.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having visited this hotel many times we were pleasantly surprised to find the rooms have at last been updated and refreshed. Bathrooms still way to go. Staff as always charming. Location perfect we had a really good stay. So pleased this revamp is beginning

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank suzannerB8289OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

A friend and I visited Portsmouth to watch a game of football and decided to stay over for a night at Gunwharf Quays. The best choice of hotel there is the Holiday Inn Express which is right in the heart of the Quays.
The rooms are typical of what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express - neat tidy, modern, functional etc. The weird thing however was that the soap dish was housed outside the shower so I had to keep accessing it every once in a while. Whether this is the case in all rooms I don't know. We had the fixed B&B rate which is worthwhile because you can help yourself to as much or as little as you want from the buffet section. If you travel by car you can get you parking charge cleared by the hotel as well which can be worth a lot if you are there for a day or so. The Portsmouth Harbour Station is a short walk away that can get you into the main city centre. Only disappointment was that the Gunwharf itself was very quiet the evening we were there however this is not a reflection of the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunandsandseekersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Hotel is located in the heart of the Gunwharf quays in Portsmouth.
The place offers 50+ designer outlet shops, great shopping! There is a cinema and multiple restaurants and bars.
Walking distance from the train station.
Hotel is comfy, room was clean and large with a nice view on the quays.
Free Wi-Fi.
Breakfast was very good with a large variety.
Staff was friendly and efficient.

Room tip: 216 has a great view on the Quays
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patrickamonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Friendly staff and helpful.
Room was remade while we were out, wasn’t needed but was a lovely touch. Food was good and lots of choice for breakfast. Recommend if staying in Gunwharf, got discount on shops for staying there too.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank tracydZ8086ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews