We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to explore Portsmouth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Providenciales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location to explore Portsmouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Although the cost of this hotel smarted a bit (am used to travelling in the US where you get so much more for your money), it is in an unbeatable location: slap bang in the middle of Gunwharf Quays - so easy access to shopping, eating, entertainment and just 10 mins walk from the historic dockyard. Really can't think of anything wrong with the place at all (except the small beds and the price - but again, am used to travelling in the US).

Room Tip: We left on Friday morning so can't comment on how noisy it is at night on the weekend, but might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zibba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    478
    319
    118
    42
See reviews for
207
473
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in July. Pleasantly surprised by the quick check-in and friendly staff. Comfortable beds and ample space for our three large suitcases. Breakfast was adequate but defintely not as bad as some of the reviews I'd previously read! A great place to stay if you want to shop and do some sight-seeing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickASGwatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent feedback. We are glad to see yet another happy guest at our hotel. We always strive to deliver on our promises. We would like to welcome you back on your next trip to Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Close to Portsmouth Harbour train station so no effort getting to the hotel which is nestled amongst a shopping complex. HMS victory and naval museum a short walk away. The hotel is located on the first floor upwards. As mentioned by others the lift was frustratingly slow. The room meet our needs, enough room to move around with a comfortable bed. My only comment here is the pillows, signing the pillows 'soft' and 'hard' is a thoughtful service but pillows so flattened by use are not 'soft' they are past their use bye and don't make for a cosy sleep. The bathroom was spartan and the shower had mould, the towels were those that aren't terribly good at drying. Breakfast was a limited selection of cold items and hot food - scrambled eggs, sausages, baked beans. Even though not a huge selection the breakfast was enjoyable and the eating area at 6.30am was quiet and clean. It's an average hotel in an excellent location.yy

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awayalot Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you have found our location convenient. We are now in the process of replacing our pillows, i do apologize it was not ready for your arrival. With regards to your bathroom comments, i will make sure this is thoroughly investigated with our housekeeping manager. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Took a bit of finding at 22.20, however once I arrived the check in was easy and the staff very friendly. The room was clean and well kept - as were all the public places. the breakfast staff were very efficient and the tables kept very clean - Id stay here again and recommend it for a quick overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCumbriaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you have found our hotel and service to be just right for your stay. We will follow up on your comment with regards to the signage. Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

the staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful.polite and willing to offer advice on places of interest as well has making us feel welcome we where made to feel relaxed.
room was clean and tidy and ready for us on arrival (we arrived early)
The evening staff offered advice on the restaurant we where visiting which was very helpful thank you.the pumpkin fritters where Delicious. sakura sushi

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristal954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am very proud to learn that our staff have made your stay even more memorable. I will make sure that our team is made aware of your kind comments. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Accommodation and location great, staff very friendly. Continental breakfast ample, also included hot food (scrambled egg, baked beans & sausages). Two lifts, only one in use, long waits peak periods.

Room Tip: Quiet side of hotel i.e. not facing front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Jed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for you kind comment. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are working hard to get our lift back in operation. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

.... and that's about all that saves this hotel. Within minutes walk of fabulous shops, restaurants, bars, HMS Victory / Mary Rose Museum etc. Reception is located on the first floor and access is via the slow lift, there is a second lift which did not work for the two days I stayed. Reception staff were very welcoming and proficient. My room was on the second floor and as you step out of the lift into the foyer there is a cold drinks vending machine and a free ice dispenser, good thinking. The walk along the corridor to my room intrigued me, the carpet is heavily stained with white milky marks, (the mind boggles ?!?!), and in urgent need of a thorough shampooing. My room (255) was spacious enough for my needs, well ventilated, quiet, clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. However, the carpet was badly stained and as per the corridor carpet in desperate need of a thorough shampoo - not once did I dare walk barefoot on it !
I'd strongly advise not opting for breakfast included in your room reservation, a very poor selection for those of us who prefer a hearty start to the days sightseeing. There are ample establishments nearby serving breakfasts.
Car parking is free for the first 24 hours and only £2.00 for the next 24 hours, the hotels Wi-Fi reception was good.

Room Tip: Room 255 was quiet, you'll recognise it from the iron burn mark on the carpet (some guests are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I would like to apologize for the lift being out of order. The repair has already started but due to major structural fault it does take time. I am sorry that it was not in operation during your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, i will pass on your kind feedback. The carpet replacement program is due to start shortly and hopefully we are going to offer a brand new experience on you next visit in Portsmouth.
Thank you for your review and we would like to welcome you back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing