We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Oundle
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is so convenient for the attractions in Portsmouth.It is part of the Gunwharf Quays shopping outlet which is brilliant,busy and great for a little retail therepy.Although this hotel is classed as a 3* the welcome was better than 5*. The receptionist,Nikki,was a smiling treasure and a great credit to our first impressions of this hotel in Portsmouth.Nikki was also very helpful to us because this was our first visit to Portsmouth....she knew the places to visit and marked them on a map of the town.The hotel was everything we needed...free breakfast,as much as you can eat,central position,clean,modern and quiet (ask for a room overlooking the shopping mall).The car park is next to the hotel,the first night is free,after that the charge is £2 for the next 24hours.
Around the hotel there are many restaurants to choose to eat in.We chose Jamies Italian one evening and The Indian Palace the next evening.Both to be recommended.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Portsmouth

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the shopping malls.We had room 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. It was good to hear your welcome to the hotel by Vikki made such a good impression and was able to help you out with places to visit. As you have pointed out we are in the heart of Gunwharf Quays with over 95 retail outlets and with over 30 different bars and restaurants. The guests of the hotel can get discounts in some of these restaurants.
I will pass all your great comments onto the team at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    478
    319
    118
    42
See reviews for
207
473
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

stayed with my family over the christmas period.staff are welcoming an d we were offered a choice of rooms and location.we will definatly use it again when visiting my daughter and bringi extended family

Room Tip: over look the shopping center
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andy654
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

checked in very well by Ben, made to feel very welcome hotel in great position with free parking in the shopping centre car park. checked out by Sam who again made the stay complete. will be back in the New Year. thanks for a great stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank andy654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was happy to hear you had a great stay. I will pass your comments on to Ben and Sam and we look forward to welcoming you back in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I work in travel and have had the fortune to stay in some amazing hotels, but the criteria for this trip was a reasonably priced property for 6 women to enjoy a weekend away

I was not disappointed!
Greeted by a very friendly chap who sorted out taxis and extra pillows - good start.
We booked two rooms meaning someone would have a sofa bed. The rooms are spacious even with the sofa bed. Choice of firm or soft pillows. Only gripe about the room for me would be lack of a bath but there is a perfectly adequate shower


I like the free wifi (which I'm in now) and the heavily discounted parking in gun wharf (£2 a day instead of £20)

Some people have complained about breakfast. It's not a full service full English but doesn't advertise to be. I had sausages which were a little disappointing but the croissants, pain au chocolate, cereal, toast and fruit is plentiful and tasty

Over all, £100 a night for three sharing, including breakfast represents good value to me!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonBelleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you taking the time to post a review. It was great to hear that found our staff both friendly and helpful. At our hotel we do offer a complimentary continental breakfast with hot favourites and I am glad you enjoyed the selection on offer although slightly disappointed by the sausage. As with all reviews I will pass on your feedback to all the staff here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We we greeted by a pleasant young lady on reception who informed us of the hotel facilities etc. We stayed for 2 nights and had a really good stay, the room was comfortable had a lovely view and we could see the boats passing by. The hotel is in a perfect spot with many nice restaurants we were spoilt for choice. Breakfast was adequate there was something for everone's palate, we arrived each morning around 8.30 to many empty tables. Tables were cleared promptly by the staff in the restaurant. All in all a very pleasant stay and would return.

Room Tip: Request a room where you have a view of the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you really enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and the team to be excellent. As with all reviews I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team who will be delighted to hear them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and once again many thanks for the positive feedback.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Extremely disappointed at value for money - this is the highest amount I have paid for a nightly rate (£160) and so my expectations were high, but basically you are paying for the location as it is very convenient for Gunwharf - you are certainly not paying that rate for the hotel. Very basic, could only provide a twin room rather than a double as requested and as they were on wheels several times I very nearly ended up on the floor as they moved away from the wall!! The room was in need of an upgrade. Breakfast was a free for all - absolute chaos! They say it is free, but the room rate more than covers it........and the rest of meals for the day!! I will be sticking to Premier Inn's in future - never had a bad one and never had to pay more than half the cost of this one for a night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your stay, I was disappointed to read that you did not feel the hotel offered good value for money. As you say the hotel has a location which is second to none situated on the Gunwharf Quays complex with all it has to offer on the hotels doorstep. I apologise that you were not allocated a double room as requested, we do try to accommodate all of our guests requested unfortunately this is not always possible, should a specific room type be required then it is always best to book that specific room type, when a standard room is booked it is explained that this means the room type will be allocated upon arrival and could be any room type that is available. I have spoken with my Housekeeping team to rectify the problem with the bed moving, I apologise that you had to experience this. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a free continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, this is consistent throughout all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the United Kingdom, we do experience peak periods during our breakfast service which is explained at check in and we do have notices around the hotel advising our guests of this. Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments which will only help me to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Standard Holiday Inn Express product with gives an affordable room / package .

This hotel is a 5 mins walk from Portsmouth harbour station , good location in Gunwharf .
Breakfast included in price and was ok but not the best in respect that some of the fruit was clearly past its best . My room was ok but beginning to wear round the edges (chipped woodwork and warn sofa) however clean , warm and hotel felt safe and would use again . So for the money it is 4 stars .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, as you say we have a great location on Gunwharf Quays with all the complex has to offer on the hotels doorstep. I apologise that our free breakfast was not as good as it could have been and will ensure the breakfast team are aware of your comments to avoid this in the future. Once again many thanks for posting a review and I trust we will be seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing