We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location friendly staff nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location friendly staff nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Gunwharf Quays is a very modern area of Portsmouth and the Holiday Inn Express fits the bill for a good value hotel in a great location to enjoy the Gunwharf Quays and is very close to the historic ships area. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean. We got a huge discount on car parking, £2 for 2 days an unexpected bonus. The area of the hotel has loads of outlet shops and high quality restaurants and clubs. For a long weekend away it was just perfect .... Apart from the breakfast of course. This Holiday Inn had the usual problem of tasteless sausages and rubbery scrambled egg but that aside it gave you an excellent choice of fresh fruit, cereals, croissants, baked beans, toast, good fruit juices, a wide range of hot drinks and really attentive staff. We had a great weekend and will certainly return again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the front of the hotel overlooking the shopping area rather than the back over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us, It was great to read that you really enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and the team to be excellent. I apologise that the hot food at breakfast was not to your taste and was happy to read that you were able to enjoy other items from the wide selection that we offer. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    487
    326
    119
    45
See reviews for
210
483
41
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our second visit to this Holiday Inn and I'm happy to say since our last visit the wifi is now free.
The rooms were up to the expected standard and the check in staff were probably the most helpful ive ever sen in a British hotel.
Two little let downs though,firstly whenever we've stayed in Holiday Inns,the breakfast is usually sausages and scrambled or fried eggs on one day and bacon and scrambled/fried eggs on alternate days.Unfortunately,on all three days it was sausages and scrambled eggs..no variety.This really needs sorting,Sunday breakfast without bacon is sacrilege.
The other let down due to its situation on prime real estate,parking is a problem.I have a blue badge and there are 7 spaces right next to the hotel.The last time we stayed 18 months ago,I got a ticket(despite having my badge in on the dashboard),this time the places were not policed at all.On the Saturday evening we returned from our friends house in Havant,to find that there was one space left,at the bottom end of the row.Out of the 7 cars there(including mine)..3 had badges,2 did not and 2 had STAFF stickers in the windscreen.
One of these staff i saw the next morning and he was a guy who looked to be in his mid 20s and in no way disabled.
Apart from these little niggles I would have rated it 5 out of 5 if only for the situation.There's loads of bars,restaurants and shops right on site,so its ideal for a short break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side of the hotel(looking from the reception desk down the bar area) are bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Soulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I was delighted to read that this was not your first visit to the hotel and that you really enjoyed your stay. With regard to our free Breakfast, as a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, this is consistent throughout all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the United Kingdom, our sister brand Holiday Inn hotels do offer a full English breakfast. As you say the hotel has seven accessible parking bays which are for hotel guest use, thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, I will certainly be looking into who is parking here and will rectify the problem. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will be seeing you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Although this was not our first visit to Gunwharf Quays it was our first stay at this hotel, our first impressions were very good with a warm and friendly welcome when we checked in, a great deal of care was taken to explain the amenities on offer, we were also offered a good choice of which room we would like. The hotel is ideally situated for all the attractions in the area, especially the wide choice of museums. Breakfast was fine, although I'm afraid I wouldn't advise the scrambled egg or sausages, the eggs had a rubbery consistency and the sausages lacking in any sort of taste, that aside there was a good choice of serials, fruits, yoghurts, pastries etc. - Would we stay again? Yes we would.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback following your stay with us, it was really great to read your comments regarding the hotel and the team, we were all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a free continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans to all our guests and this is consistent throughout all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the United Kingdom, I apologise that the scrambled eggs and sausages did not appeal to you and I will be sure to check our procedures so that the hot food is to the highest standards on the breakfast buffet. I am delighted that you would certainly stay with us again and I hope that it will be in the near future. Once again many thanks.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. We didnt book our stay in advance so we had no idea of what the hotel was like. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. We got a very tidy and clean room, our first impressions were of how large we thought the room was.
The location was excellent with sort walks to all of the surrounding restaurants, bars and the shopping complex.
I would stay in this hotel again but would book in advance to save a bit more money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamandKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your weekend away with us, it was great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and will book with us again the next time you are visiting the area. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Once again many thanks.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hotel good. Staff helpful and friendly. Location excellent. Breakfast good.
Only 'downside' was the entrance on ground floor before reaching the hotel reception on first floor. I didn't feel safe coming in at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be friendly and helpful. With regard to the ground floor lobby, during the night the front doors are locked and only guests staying who have keys can access the hotel. Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Standard hotel in an area which isn't too good either, gun wharf quays in a place which acts like a classy London shopping centre but actually is full of shops which supply goods at a lower price because of mistakes made on the garments.

The hotel itself is nothing special and can be beat my numerous hotels in the area at a considerably lower price!!

The windows are not sound proof and are very noisy they also have mould on, the room was outdated and the bed uncomfortable. The carpet also had numerous stains.
The free breakfast is purely there to pad up the fact that the room is over valued, and not worth the money paid.

Do not stay here unless you are lazy and can't be bothered to walk from guildhall town centre to gunwharf quays where there are plenty of better hotels.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickywhicketcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us or the location of the hotel. All rooms in the hotel have triple glazed windows to keep external noise to a minimum, with regard to the cleanliness this will certainly be rectified. The free breakfast that we offer to all our guests is consistent throughout all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the United Kingdom and makes a great start to the day, there are a number of other discounts to be enjoyed whilst staying here such as discount in the hotel bar, discounts in certain bats & restaurants on Gunwharf Quays and car parking. Once again thank you for posting your feedback which will only help us to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Usual Holiday Inn Express, just with a fabulous location. So expect a so so breakfast, a bed that moves when you lean against the headboard - funny the first time it happens, then a bit annoying. But a great, almost surreal, shopping centre is right outside, with ferries, yachts, Navy vessels all cruising past about 80 feet out from the shore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAndMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel to be second to none. I apologise that you experienced a problem with your bed and will ensure my maintenance team and housekeeping team rectify this. Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing