We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights on business and had a very nice stay. Central location for all amenities and bars, restaurants. Good cosy bar small but homely and would stay there again. Food and snacks good quality and value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the 'homely' atmosphere in the hotel. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    511
    342
    124
    48
See reviews for
225
512
43
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abberley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a good 3 nights here this week. Bit noisy on Tuesday night with people shouting up the corridor. Breakfast quite good. Good place to stay if you are visiting the historical dockyard as its only a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I apologise that you experienced some noise in the corridors during the night, my night team do patrol the corridors regularly to keep disturbances to a minimum. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here to visit the Mary Rose in Portsmouth. A great location for Portsmouth & Southsea. Lovely Staff ,very helpful. Breakfasts are good quality too.Rooms are comfortable, but not very large. Quiet.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tolly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the team to be lovely and helpful. I trust we will be seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area. Once again many thanks.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Purpose of visit was the Great South Run. Front of house staff as always polite welcoming and friendly.
The room was on the first floor overlooking quays and was well presented . However a little noisy the Sunday night as it seemed to be situated over a bar .
Regrettably for next year I have booked with an alternative hotel chain at a third of the cost for the two nights. If you can afford the room rate of £150 a night it's a great central location with shops on the doorstep . Breakfast is included as is plentiful with a good choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grandad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I trust the run went well. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be as friendly and polite as they always are. As you say we are situated on Gunwharf Quays which is a very busy complex both day and night, all our rooms are fitted with triple glazed windows to reduce the amount of noise from outside. I am sorry to read that you have booked elsewhere for next year and I hope that you will visit us again.
Once again many thanks.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express during a training weekend. The rooms were lovely and the staff incredibly helpful. Particularly good were Sam and Stephen who ran the bar and worked the night shift - they looked after us incredibly well and are an asset to the team.
The only reason I wouldn't rate this a 'five', was because the rooms didn't have fridges. For someone with a pretty hefty diet coke habit, that wasn't great.

Room Tip: One thing I did find was that the lift seemed very slow - I ended up taking the stairs - probably a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamPhripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it was great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the team to be friendly and helpful, in particular Sam and Steve who will be delighted to hear your comments. Once again many thanks and I trust we will be seeing you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with a significant discount (around 45% off full price), and it was still significantly overpriced. The hallways had stained carpets and were very musty, as was the shabby and rather dark room. The bathroom had moldy corners, probably due to the ineffective fan. The carpet and the chair cushion were both heavily stained (the chair with a rather unappealing butt print). Buffet breakfast was bad.

The hotel does have an excellent location right in gunwharf quay and a few minutes walk from the train station and the historic docks. The staff were very helpful,and the lounge was bright and cheerful. Nevertheless, I would not stay at this hotel again, and I do not recommend it to others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologise that your experience at the hotel was not to our usual high standards as we pride ourselves upon the cleanliness of the hotel to which we receive many positive reviews. I am aware that the carpets and the upholstery in certain areas of the hotel are in need of replacement and this will be addressed in our next refurbishment plan. The prices for the hotel do vary from day to day and there are always a number of booking options available to suit all travellers, we also run special promotions from time to time which offer excellent value for money. As you say the location of the hotel is fantastic situated on Gunwharf Quays and it was great to read your comments regarding the team which I will be sure to share with them all. Once again many thanks for your comments which will only help us to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Somerset, UK
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked to stay here for one night to meet up with my old school chum and his wife, so that we could all visit the historic sights of Portsmouth. My chum suggested here, as he reckoned that the Holiday Inn Express franchise is a bit more upmarket than your average Travelodge or Premier Inn. Well, I’m not so sure.

Firstly the positives. A reasonable size room with adequate size ensuite. We had a view out from the third floor over Gunwharf Quays and the canal, which was quite pleasant. Our friends, on the other side, looked out over the carpark, which wasn’t quite so good. The location is good for both the pubs in the historic area and the naval attractions of the Warrior, Victory and Mary Rose (for which see separate reviews). Parking is free for the first 24 hours. Check in and out at reception is efficient.

The negatives. This hotel does not have its own carpark. You use a separate entrance to get into the general shopping centre carpark, where there are no specifically designated spaces for the hotel. You could, therefore, be parked quite a way from the hotel entrance. You also have to leave the carpark and walk above ground to get back to the hotel reception. Not good if it is raining!

Our first problem came in our friends and us trying to contact each other. I phoned their room and it rang and rang with no answer. We later found that they also phoned our room with the same result. We found out later that the room phones were set on silent, so that they did not ring at all. Duh!! Why?

When we finally got together and made for the lift to descend from the third floor, the lift arrived at the third floor, but the doors would not open. We walked down.

When we returned from eating out, I went to the vending machine on the second floor, to get a bottle of water for our room. After two separate pound coins and two 50p pieces had gone straight through the machine, to no avail, I descended a further floor to reception. There I was told that the machine was out of order and should have had a sign on it saying so (which it did not!).

Buffet breakfast was included in the room rate but was, frankly, not worth having. There was no bacon offered, just sausages, and pretty revolting sausages, at that, together with very dry scrambled egg that I suspect was made from reconstituted eggs rather than fresh. Yuk!!

For the price charged, I can’t say that I rated this hotel very highly. Maybe I’ll stick to Travelodge in future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TauntonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay, I apologise that you experienced some 'niggles' during your stay with us. As you say, we are located on the Gunwharf Quays complex, the hotel does not have its own car park and guest s park in the underground Gunwharf Quays car park, when staying in the hotel the car park is free for the first 24 hours or exit and is only £2 per exit or per 24 hours thereafter, unfortunately there is a short walk from the car park to the hotel. With regard to the bedrooms phones, as you say these should not be set to silent and this should have been checked by the housekeeping team when the rooms were serviced.
As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a free continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites to all our guests which includes sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans, I apologise that the cooked items were not to your taste and I trust you managed to enjoy other items from the wide selection that we offer. Once again many thanks for your comments which will only help us to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,525 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 39 in Portsmouth
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing