We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impromptu Stay, will be back some day!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impromptu Stay, will be back some day!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We took a day trip to Portsmouth from our caravan site in Sussex and found Gunwharf Quay to be amazing. It was a lovely day and the quay was sprewn with bars and restaurants. The retail outlet stores were just minutes away. It was such a lovely day and we were disappointed at having to leave. Then, being spontaneous as we are, spied a Holiday Inn just around the corner. A family room was £110 including a hot breakfast and parking was included. Betty bonus! Off to the supermarket to buy toothbrushes and toothpaste, back to the room to freshen up and off we went and had a lovely evening. The staff were very helpful with the folding bed, plenty of hot water, very clean and breakfast was varied. Well done!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browneyes569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your stay, as you say Gunwharf Quays is a great day out with restaurants, bars, shops and attractions to fill your day. It was great to read that you decided to stay with us and really enjoyed the hotel and services that we offer. Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    478
    321
    118
    42
See reviews for
207
476
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location is perfect for Gunwharf Quays - 5 minutes walks to the waterfront, the Spinnaker, restaurants and shops.

The hotel was 'OK'. Breakfast was very good. Staff were very friendly.

Only complaints are that it looked as though it needed a hoover in some of the public areas and there was a watermark stain on the carpet in our room.

Wifi is not available unless you're a member of the 'Honors' program. I think you have to be at 'platinum' level too.

Ridiculous, when will UK hotels realise that wifi should be included. I don't have to pay extra for electricity or water!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay, as you say the location of the hotel is fantastic situated on Gunwharf Quays with over 95 retail outlets, over 25 restaurants & bars ad attractions such as Spinnaker Tower and the Historic Dockyard all on the hotels doorstep.
t was great to read that you enjoyed the free breakfast that we offer and found the team to be friendly, I will be sure to share your kind comments with them all.
I am aware that there are certain areas of the hotel that are in need of redecoration, the majority of this is in the process of being complete in house , other areas will be completed in the next refurbishment plan. WiFi is available in the hotel to all guests, it is chargeable access unless you are a Gold or Platinum IHG Rewards club member, there are a number of options available to cater for all our guests and we also have an internet kiosk available in the Reception area of the hotel. Once again many thanks for the review I really appreciate your feedback which will only help us to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here two years ago and wasn't thrilled by the place, but it was serviceable. Feel much the same this time, although the wear and tear of two years certainly shows, particularly in the hallways as carpets are frayed and threadbare. Overall, this is a decent hotel. Nothing thrilling, but large rooms, comfortable beds, and a great location at the Gunwharf Quays mall, steps away from Spinnaker Tower and just a 10 minute walk to the Historic Dockyard. Travelled with a friend and, at check-in, I had a very nice representative helping me, but the person helping my friend was quite uptight. Even though we both had UK residence addresses, he wanted to see our US passports (I'd forgotten to bring mine). Makes no sense to me, as I had other ID. Thankfully, my rep simply continued the check-in process without ever asking to see the passport. The included breakfast was tolerable, as with any HI Express. For location, this is your best bet in Portsmouth for visiting the Dockyard, but it doesn't have a whole lot else going for it. It's decent, but it's not a stand out for any reason.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpeedwayCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as you say the location of the hotel is fantastic situated on Gunwharf Quays with all the complex has to offer right on the hotels doorstep. I am aware there are certain areas of the hotel that are in need of re decoration and refurbishment, which are either being addressed in house or will be addressed in the hotels next refurbishment plans. I am really sorry that there was some confusion at check in with regard to passports/ID's and I will review our procedures to ensure there is minimal disruption and inconvenience caused to our guests when arriving and checking in at the hotel. Once again many thanks for the review, your feedback really is appreciated as it will help us to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here when it first opened a few years ago and was happy then, but now it has deteriorated somewhat. The best thing going for it is its' location, parking was also included in £99 charge for 1 night. On the downside was that the room carpets are now stained with nasty black patches of who knows what and the beds are terrible. My wife's bed had a huge dip in it and mine did not do my back any favours. As for the cooked breakfast of grey scrambled egg, sawdust sausage and cold baked beans washed down with watered down fruit juice and foul coffee, forget it, eat out in the morning. Will not be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbevans66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay, I am really sorry to read that you found our beds to be uncomfortable and that certain products included in our free breakfast were not to your taste. We have recently introduced great quality mattress toppers and new quilts in our rooms which have been very well received by the majority of our guests. We have been working hard to improve our breakfast offering and take on board your comments which will only help us to continue to improve this area of the hotel. Once again many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a very nice stay for 2 nights, the hotel has a very good location near the quays and is
easy accessible with the parking next door.Most of the restaurants are within walking distance
which is a great advantage so you don't have to use your car in the evening. We choose this
hotel because we visited for 2 days the Goodwood Festival of Speed , the distance between
Portsmouth and Goodwood is not so far away and so you can relax in the evening at the
seaside. Even the restaurant Jamie's Italian which is located in the building of the hotel is highly
recommended !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay, it was really great to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. As you say the hotels location on Gunwharf Quays is fantastic with all the complex has to offer on the hotels doorstep. Goodwood racecourse, as you say is not to far away, located in Chichester which is ust a short drive from Portsmouth. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will be seeing you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and were not sure what to expect due to mixed reviews. The hotel is in a great location and close to restaurants, shops and the historic dockyards. Quality of rooms was fairly good for a chain, service was great and free breakfast a great feature. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_and_r_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your stay, I was really pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. As you say the hotels location is fantastic situated on Gunwharf Quays with over 95 retail outlets, over 25 well known restaurants & bars and attractions such as Spinnaker Tower and The Historic Dockyard all on the doorstep. It was great to read your comments regarding the service from the team and I will be sure to share this with them all as they mean such a lot to us. Once again many thanks fro the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was really impressed with this hotel. We fancied a trip down to the dockyard from London and decided that we were better off staying overnight so we looked for somewhere convenient. We weren't particularly looking for a luxury hotel just somewhere to lay our heads within walking distance. I knew holiday inns are reliable so we plumped for this hotel. It was absolutely brilliant. From the moment we stepped out of the lift the service was friendly, polite and efficient. We were very impressed with our room which had a lovely view over the water in Gunwharf Quay. The facilities were comprehensive - we had everything we needed! The room and bathroom were both very clean. The bed was very comfortable and in this hot weather, it was a delight to have air conditioning. My husband and I had the best night's sleep we'd had in ages. The hotel provide you with details of discounts they have organised with nearby restaurants and bars, of which there are over 20 to choose from. We would be very happy spending a week here , not just an odd night. Thanks very much to all the staff for their professionalism and efficiency.

Room Tip: One overlooking the gunwharf quays for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and experienced excellent service from the team. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all here at the hotel as comments such as yours really do mean a lot to us all. Once again many thanks for the review and as you say, maybe next time you are visiting the area you will be able to spend a little more time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing