We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent location, central to Gunwharf shopping centre. The staff are helpful, rooms are very clean and the breakfast very good. Parking is just £2 per day or if you hold a Disabled Badge as we did it's free.

A slip proof mat would have been useful in the shower, unfortunately they couldn't provide one. But apart from that the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for posting a review following your stay, It was great to read that you really enjoyed your stay and found the hotel & the team to be excellent. With regard to the shower, the base is slightly rigid which is anti slip, I do however take your comments on board and will review this with my maintenance team. Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was brilliantly located for visiting the Quays. The carpets throughout were a little tatty but otherwise the room was ideal for my daughter and I. Free parking for 24 hours then just £2 if you go over per day. They also give discounts at local restaurants when you show your room key card. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful at all times. the only criticism would be that the towels are rather poor quality. We'd only used the hand towel once each and it was drenched !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DillyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel, we really appreciate feedback from our guests which only helps us to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer. As you say, as a hotel guest there are significant discounts to be enjoyed including selected bars and restaurants on Gunwharf Quays and the car parking. I was delighted to read that the team were ery friendly and helpful during your stay, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all here at the hotel. I am aware that certain areas of the hotel are in need of re decoration and this is being addressed, also towels are being replaced at the moment. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you're visiting Portsmouth and the local attractions for a few days, this is an excellently situated Hotel in the heart of the Gunwharf Quays.

We've stopped here a few times, this time we came with Dad to see the Mary Rose again in her new building.

We love the area and this hotel makes it so hassle free. Even parking is free for 1st 24 hours and then only £2 / day after

Room Tip: If possible get a quay facing room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for posting a review, as you say the hotel has a fantastic location situated on Gunwharf Quays with all the complex has to offer all on the hotels doorstep. The Historic Dockyard is also just a five minute walk from the hotel, so if you are planning to visit the Mary Rose museum, Warrior and Victory we are the perfect choice. There are a number of discounts to be enjoyed while a guest at the hotel which include selected bars and restaurants on Gunwharf Quays and as you say the car parking. It was great to read that you have stayed with us a number of times and have always enjoyed your stays, once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you soon on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chose the Holiday Inn Express for it's central location in the GunWharf Quays. The bus and train stations are a couple of minutes walk away. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants, pubs, the marina and a range of popular retail outlets.
The hotel itself is clean. The staff are efficient and friendly and the breakfast has a good choice of croissants, toast, cereals, fruit, jogurts and cooked sausages, scrambled eggs and beans with a choice of fruit juices coffee and tea.
The double room was comfortable with TV and tea making faciities. A major minus was the complete lack of any draws ?
The bathroom was modern and clean with ample supplies of good quality clean towels.
Over all the hotel was well managed and clean.
The main criticism is the charge for Wi-Fi which is 12 GB pounds per 24 hrs. However if you join their rewards club and accumulate points, the Wi-Fi is free. I would recommend the Holiday Inn Express for a pleasant stay in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side if you are light sleepers however there was little noise from any...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay, it was fantastic to read that you really enjoyed your stay and found the hotel, staff and services to be great. Holiday Inn Express hotel bedrooms are designed for guests comfort and functionality, as you say there are no drawers but there is ample space to hang clothes. With regard to wifi, this is available throughout the whole hotel, as you say it is free of charge for all Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards club members so it is well worth joining if you are not already a member. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will be seeing you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel trades on it's location and the fact that it doesn't have any competition at Gunwharf Quays. The rooms have basic furniture, the beds are comfortable but unfortunately the pillows are cheap and lumpy. On arrival the toilet was dirty and the net curtain hooks had not all been connected to the rail. The shower tray had black mould around it and the shower curtain had seen better days. After the first shower, water just dribbled from the shower head and was not even luke warm. Although there is a notice in the bathroom informing guest that the temperature did fluctuate mine didn't. Is this good enough - I don't think so and the management made no offer of any recompense. Sometimes an apology is just not good enough.

The breakfast was fine.

The staff are very apologetic and polite and are willing put things right, but I was left feeling that I was forever complaining, which I should not have to do. Unfortunately the staff just agreed with me - not good enough.

This is my first experience of a stay at a Holiday Inn and it will be my last!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at the Hotel. As you say the location of the hotel is fantastic situated on Gunwharf Quays with all the complex has to offer on the hotels doorstep. As a Holiday Inn Express the design of the rooms is for our guests comfort and functionality, I am sorry that you felt the furniture was basic. We offer a choice of soft or firm pillows on the beds in all of our rooms, again I am really sorry that these were not comfortable for you. With regard to the maintenance and cleanliness issues that you experienced, I really do apologise, we pride ourselves on how clean and well maintained the hotel is which is evident from previous reviews that we have received from our guests, I assure you that the problems you experienced are not the usual high standards that we consistently achieve. I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay, if you would contact me at the hotel that would be great. Once again many thanks for the review and I look forward to speaking to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here as a party of 6 colleagues for a sailing day and the hotel was fantastic. Very fast check-in even juggling names, clean fresh rooms with views of the plaza. the hotel was not even 5 mins from the station and even less to the quay. after dinner we had a couple drinks in the hotel bar where Simon was extremely friendly and went beyond bar duties to kept us entertained! Breakfast was perfect and very fresh but don't expect bacon - they don't serve it in Express. Well recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLWCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write a review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be efficient, professional and friendly, I will certainly pass your kind comments on to all the team and in particular Simon. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Portsmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for the field gun competition. The location was perfect for jumping on the ferry to take you over to catch the FREE bus to Collingwood! We had a triple room. It was nice and big and roomy with a lovely bathroom. There was tea making facilities and a nice big tele to boot. The breakfast was a bit crap but edible and the staff were very nice and willing to help!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendykeyworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. As you say the location of the hotel is perfect, centrally located for Gunwharf Quays & Portsmouth and just a short ferry trip to Gosport.
I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the team here at the hotel to be friendly and helpful at all times, I will be sure to share your comments with all.
It was disappointing to read your feedback regarding breakfast as we have been working hard to improve this, as a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a self service continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans which is the same throughout all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the UK, I appreciate your feedback which will only help us to continue to improve this area of the hotel. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,551 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,015 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 39 in Portsmouth
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $112 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing