We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Pier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier
Ranked #4 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A warm welcome from Gill. The offer of a cup of tea on arrival was typical of Gill's thoughtfulness during our stay 22 - 25 October 2012. Excellent breakfast, very comfortable room and 3 doors from a first class restaurant recommended by Gill. Will definitely stay again. She is a gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianDAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 216 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B. The room was perfect, comfortable bed, immaculate and had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious and we took advanced of the parking permit offered.

Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We chose for location within walking distance to Historic Dockyard and to Southsea seafront.
We liked it because it was easily one of the nicest, comfortable and friendly simple B&B we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Thank you so much to Gill for her warm welcome and the beautiful breakfast. My husband has a gluten alergy which Gill catered for by getting him some gluten free quiches with his breakfast, most other places say they cater for special diets but all they do is just say what you can`t have on the menu, so it was so lovely to find that Gill had got these in for him. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and there was a good choice of cereal, danish patries and fruit, also the home made yoghurt was lovely. Our room was beautiful very spacious, light, lovely fresh flowers, very clean, huge bed with lovely bedding and the ensuite size caused us no problem at all, it was immaculate and adequate. I didn`t sleep the first night due to the fact that there was only one pillow, which was rectified immediately the following day and then i slept fine. It was also great to have the parking permit as we could just leave the car there the whole break. From the moment we stepped into this place we felt very at ease and will definately stay here again when we visit Portsmouth in the future

Room Tip: Room 3 is a lovely room but you do get some traffice noise and noise from people coming home from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a super place to stay. Gill the owner welcomed us with a cup of tea and and explained the free parking permit. There were plenty of spaces very close by. She also told us where we could find dining places for our evening meal. Our room, at the rear, was spotlessly clean and very quiet. Beds were very comfortable with lovely coverings. Tea and coffee tray with biscuits was a nice feature, not always available in B&B's. The breakfast with cereals, fruit, home made yoghurt and a full English, saved us the cost of lunch!
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary on this trip and on our table at breakfast on 'the day' there was a card and a box of chocs from Gill. What a lovely kind gesture!
The location is ideal with for both the Southsea sea front and the Portsmouth attractions-Gun Wharf Quays, Historic Dockyard etc.
We highly recommend this 'Great B&B'

Room Tip: All would be excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamF190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Upon arrival Gill was very welcoming. We were given a parking permit for the car, so we didn't have to worry about car park fees, plenty of space in the side roads to park - one less thing to worry about.
The room (room 3) was at the front of the property overlooking the road, not noisy at all. The room was spacious, very clean and inviting. The decor was all white and made it look very refreshing. The onsuite a little on the small side (a prefab unit) however it was adequate for your needs. The tea tray was picked with tea and coffee. Bed was comfortable and nicely made. The room had free wifi - again a nice change from other hotels/ B & B's.
Gunwharf Quaywas about a 12 minute walk. SouthSea Pier 5-8 minute walk.
The breakfast was great, we were even offered home made yohurt, and that was lovely. Gill even gave us the receipe! There was cereal, hot cross buns, criossants, toast with a vatiety of jams and marmalade. Then full english, really lovely.
All overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay, which I will recommend to all my family and friends and we will be returning I'm sure of that!
Thank you Gill for your hospitality.

Room Tip: a room at the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammerbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Gill met us on arrival and immediately guided us to the ideal location for some dinner - not only were we not disappointed by her recommendations, but our room at the Pier and breakfast the following morning were excellent. Everything was clean and tidy, with fresh flowers in the room. We will definitely be returning as this is a little gem of an establishment that pleases even the fussiest of people!!! Thank you very much for a lovely stay...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.8 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,034 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier

Address: 2 Bellevue Terrace | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: $98 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1810 Georgian town house situated 10 minutes' walk from Gunwharf Quays. Five elegant guestrooms, four have king-sized beds with a small pod-style (similar to a cross channel ferry) type en suite bathroom and one has twin beds with shower, wash basin and toilet - all with quality beds and fine Egyptian cotton linen, digital Freeview television, toiletries, hospitality tray and Free WiFi. For breakfast, fresh coffee, Portsmouth tea, dry cure bacon, local award winning 'proper' sausages and free range eggs, fresh mushrooms and tomatoes all cooked to order, along with homemade yogurt, croissants, cereal and fresh fruit buffet, special diets catered for on request. Customers lounge, relax and enjoy........ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing