We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal of thought”
Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
G! Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great deal of thought”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The staff were very helpful and we found that a great deal of thought had gone into the place. Good location, clean and tidy rooms. Although, our shower on the top floor had a tendency to go hot and cold and lose a little pressure. There was breakfast in bed with no extra charge and we were provided with a goodie bag of water and cereal bars when we left. Perfect for the journey home with hangover.

Room Tip: It is a boutique hotel, there is no lift. So, if you find stairs difficult ask for a low level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, we take all comments on board here. We are currently in the process of having the showers looked at, and hope that this problem is sorted soon. Once again thank you so much for your review, and we hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    100
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
515
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne,Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay in Portsmouth at short notice due to to a family bereavement and ended up staying three nights. When the receptionist found out why we were staying in the area, she immediately upgraded us. A kind gesture that was hugely appreciated. The room was spacious, clean, with a huge and comfortable bed. We thought that all the staff were brilliant - they seemed genuinely keen that we should have a relaxing stay. Loved the fact that breakfast served until 10 a.m. Great to have a menu with many choices for breakfast and not just the standard full English - which this hotel serves in two sizes. Breakfast was served speedily and was very enjoyable. Hotel is very close to the seafront and would make a good base for visiting all local attractions. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetdynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, all of us here at G Boutique really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night and were very pleased with the hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The hotel is stylish and our room was very clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent with a great menu with lots of variety.

There were parking spaces available on the hotels front car park and the hotel is situated approximately 2 miles away from the busy & lively Gunwharf leisure area. We visited Gunwharf twice during our stay which cost around £5 in a taxi.

We enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staying in two rooms over two days and both rooms were tidy, clean and comfortable. But the most impressive thing about the hotel was the staff, they couldn't be any more helpful and accommodating if they tried. So friendly, cheerful and willing to always go the extra mile. We were down for a sporting event and whilst getting prepared for the event they worked around us for food, extra rooms for and additional bed for friend to rest in our room. I highly recommend this hotel for people who want a nice and easy stay.

Room Tip: All rooms nice, but bigger rooms have extra comforts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justts2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your fab review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we helped preparing for your event that little bit easier. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Though only living 5 miles from the hotel we decided to celebrate an 'Un-birthday' with a stay having read the reviews. We were not disappointed, the room was spacious with a separate seating area and large bathroom including a double shower and roll top bath. The whole hotel was tastefully decorated in an up to date individual style reflecting the choices of the owners. The four poster bed though a standard double was most comfortable, We choose to eat from the bar menu which was home cooked with a good selection at prices no more expensive than the local P.H.'s Breakfast was worth the journey on its own, great choices expertly cooked. A memorable experience which we hope to repeat in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: The Glad room was quiet and as described above. The hotel web site shows all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carterjandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you very much for your lovely comments. We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a mid week break. It's a boutique hotel, and it does what it say's on the tin. Our room had a circular bed, with a remote control overhead LED display. I loved that. The bathroom had a shower, and a double size jacuzzi bath. There are also tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The really nice touches as mentioned in previous reviews, cup cakes and a sad faced goodbye bag. It's also worth mentioning the fabulous breakfast, great for setting you up for the day ahead. The staff are really friendly and want you to be happy. Couldn't fault the hotel, very clean and a high standard of finish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve7234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. We all really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and really hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a find, will never have to look for a hotel in Portsmouth again(subject to availabilty)
Great room, fantastic bar and breakfast,and service beyond expectations.Nothing was too much trouble. Great restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Went to the Turkish and had st dinner for 2 for £35, including meze for starters. Great all round experience.
Thankyou

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittanyLetrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Property: G! Boutique Hotel
Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — G! Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing