We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignored and frustrated”
Review of O Sole Mio 2

O Sole Mio 2
Ranked #299 of 646 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of several restaurants on the Boardwalk at Port Solent
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ignored and frustrated”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I booked to take my wife and kids here on Friday 18th July 2014 because we've eaten here previously and enjoyed the food.
We ordered 4 adult meals (kids are 8 & 9) because there were no kids options. Once finished we asked for a desert menu 3 times, intending to order drinks also because ours were gone. After 30 mins of waiting I gave up and left. Presented with a bill for over £60 and when I explained how disappointed we were I was met with a shrug and a refusal to do anything!
Won't be going back again and I'll be sure to spread the word to others.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    36
    15
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Went into port Solent last night and choose this restaurant as looked pleasant outside ,firstly our drink order was taken which was a bottle of pinot and a coke , we then placed our food order 5 mins later . Within a minute or so of ordering our starter had arrived which was pâté and a whitebait .. Still no drinks though thought it was usual to have drinks first !! Asked the waiter and he knew nothing !! Pâté was defo cheap packet job and toast was tesco value thin sliced at best .....getting thirsty now, whitebait was nice the star of the evening .... The only star ! Finish out starter and I ask the waiter where our drinks our and he replies we are busy at the bar !! Eventually the drinks arrive with our main course , one mushroom risotto and spaghetti carbonara , looked like they both had been sittin on a great big urn in the kitchen ready to be slopped on the plate which was the size of a dustbin lid !! Risotto looked like something my cat would have brought up and didn't taste much better either , spaghetti was dry and tasteless , this supposed to be a nice evening together with my partner after having a baby and tbh we enjoyed nothing but the company an the view all round crap would be a generous review of this overpriced Italian

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Empop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Whenever it's a special occasion we always choose here to eat.
Port solent is a lovely location and o sole mio is a traditional italian restaurant and a lovely atmosphere.
As my other halfs hole family are italian we all highly rate the food they cook the food how you would like it and has a wide range to choose from off the menu, also they are willing to change some of the dishes to your liking as it's all freshly cooked e.g on the menu they only offer a sea food risotto so I asked if they could cook me a different risotto instead and they were happy to add different ingredients as all cooked fresh there and then.
The waitresses and waiters make the restaurant feel traditional which we love!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _cookieA22_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Post Goodwood dinner”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We dropped into OSole Mio on the off chance of a table. We did not know the area and needed a nice meal after a long day out.
Very friendly welcome and a table was found for us.
Service was great, very attentive and friendly. Drinks ordered and arrived very quickly.
Food ordered and arrived, hot cooked really well and very tasty.
There is nothing not to like, lovely location, great atmosphere and no frills tasty Italian food.
Cannot fault the service, if we come by Port Solent again we will be back, thanks for a great meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Sunday English lunch in an Italian place...”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

It was a beautiful Sunday afternoon and we went over to Port Solent. The place was not heaving with people. The tables were laid outside and there was live music being performed by a duo at O Sole Mio.

We had not made reservations and yet were shown a table. The boats on the marina provide a most attractive view.

It would appear to be odd to partake of a roast meal at an Italian restaurant. But the black board on display indicated both roast beef and pork were available. So we ordered one of each. We were reassured that the potatoes were not cooked in butter but lard. That was great because one of us had a dairy allergy and butter would have been unsuitable.

Service was good and the food was very tasty the only criticism was that the Yorkshire pudding was burnt in areas!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Imliooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sole Mio 2 also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to O Sole Mio 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing