We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$118
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$66
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
$95
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,108)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveler rating
205
434
307
112
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
434
307
112
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinegunwharf quaysexecutive roomhealth clubswimming poolsauna and steam roomminute walkthe hotel car parkleisure centresea frontclarence pierisle of wightshort breakquiet locationfamily roomspinnaker towercomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
676 - 681 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis whilst working away. Sadly its the best of a bad bunch in Portsmouth. The rooms are average some are better than others and have been updated recently. You take your chances at reception usually the staff are OK but one person is generally rude and unhelpful. As an IHG member you get no benefits, no upgrades and sometimes do not get the free drink or bonus points on arrival. Every morning at breakfast you are asked if you want tea or coffee. Unless David is on you wont get any unless you ask again after about 5 minutes. If you want poached eggs be prepared for a very long wait. This could and should be a nice hotel but some of the staff let it down badly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lysander69uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear lysander69uk,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments about the room conditions and the variety of breakfast choices have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I am an IHG Ambassdor and on check in was advised I had been upgraded to an Executive room. If this is the best the hotel has to offer I feel sorry for everyone else.

The room was very small and in serious need of updating. There was a strong smell of urine in the bathroom and this is because there are issues with the toilet's flush.

I believe some of the rooms have views of the sea - ours was a pretty dismal view .

The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows all need throwing away.

The staff on reception were very good and professional beyond the establishment they are working in.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Bridgehouse_10,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Ambassador member. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth in mid-November, 2013 on our vacation. Our main reason for visiting was to see the military history associated with this area of the country, including several historic warships, an excellent D-Day Landing Museum, and nearby Southwick House. We found Portsmouth to be an enjoyable city - not too big, relatively easy to walk & situated right on the harbor with views into the bay that leads to the English Channel. We also spent several evenings at an outside shopping center next to the Harbor called The Gunwharf Quay, which had a good selection of restaurants and shops, and was nicely decorated for the holidays.

As for the Holiday Inn, we were able to secure a room that included breakfast for two. We chose to walk to the hotel from the train station, which took just over 20 minutes and had us completing our journey in a residential neighborhood. The hotel is in a quiet area, and we always felt safe walking around, but there is not much to do around the hotel in the evening. If you are looking for lodging nearer to nightlife, we would recommend you consider the Holiday Inn Express located right next to The Gunwharf Quay shopping & entertainment center, and a 5 minute walk to the train station (Portsmouth The Hard).

Positives:
+ Quiet location, located in more of a residential area. A 5 minute walk to the Clarence Pier (carnival & video games, great for kids & families) and the sea wall. Also, was about a 20 minute walk to the D-Day Museum (opposite direction from the Harbor).
+ Just about equidistant walking time/distance (20 minutes) between the two main train stations, Portsmouth South Sea and Portsmouth The Hard (which is the one next to the harbor).
+ Pool on-site, indoor
+ Reasonably affordable. We paid ~ $200/night, including breakfast for two.


Negatives:
- Location in relation to the train station, approximately a 20 minute walk.
- Small room, even for England. But it did have the basic amenities.
- No free wi-fi unless you are a Holiday Inn hotel chain member with status. We paid 5 gbp/hour.
- Average breakfast, especially an over-promise on the typically-runny egg choices. Otherwise, a standard selection of breads, cereal, breakfast meats and pastries.
- Fitness facility was small. About 6 pieces of cardio equipment (treadmill & elliptical), but only a few machines for weight training.
- Definitely not a modern hotel. Decor was basic, no frills and the building almost seemed to be a converted apartment building.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiteSeekers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear SiteSeekers2000,

Thank you for your candid feedback. It is unfortunate you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations and location of our hotel, but we are pleased your sightseeing event was a highlight. We are also pleased you did enjoy our onsite pool. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel, and your feedback will help us to do so.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hostel is perfectly located, the swimming pool makes it a great place for families in case of bad weather. The staff were very helpful and even patient as we had trouble with the credit card and on a negative note they do not take Euro's the cost of the wifi is absolutely ridiculous and actually put a downer on our trip as we were there for 10 days and needed to work, the price was about 10£ a day! Even the "cheapest" option was expensive.
Great position near the docks.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view, we couldn't but am sure it improves the stay.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The good bits. Very, very professional welcome and the receptionist couldn't have been more friendly with her welcome. Easy to find with a free car park. The not quite so good. The rooms although clean are tired and do need a facelift to bring them up to the standard expected of travellers today. The car park is very busy so don't be surprised if you don't find a space. We did have a drink in the bar which was comfortable but didn't use the restaurant during our stay. We would stay again but would expect it to be priced as a budget hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank YesChefThanksChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear StrangeNotion,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are very appreciative that you felt our service at the Front Desk was excellent and that you found our location convenient. I am sorry that the state of the room and car park area did not meet your expectations. Your comments will also be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope you will allow us an opportunity to better serve your needs in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews