We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its......ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its......ok”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis whilst working away. Sadly its the best of a bad bunch in Portsmouth. The rooms are average some are better than others and have been updated recently. You take your chances at reception usually the staff are OK but one person is generally rude and unhelpful. As an IHG member you get no benefits, no upgrades and sometimes do not get the free drink or bonus points on arrival. Every morning at breakfast you are asked if you want tea or coffee. Unless David is on you wont get any unless you ask again after about 5 minutes. If you want poached eggs be prepared for a very long wait. This could and should be a nice hotel but some of the staff let it down badly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lysander69uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear lysander69uk,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments about the room conditions and the variety of breakfast choices have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    375
    268
    98
    46
See reviews for
181
376
39
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staveley
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I am an IHG Ambassdor and on check in was advised I had been upgraded to an Executive room. If this is the best the hotel has to offer I feel sorry for everyone else.

The room was very small and in serious need of updating. There was a strong smell of urine in the bathroom and this is because there are issues with the toilet's flush.

I believe some of the rooms have views of the sea - ours was a pretty dismal view .

The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows all need throwing away.

The staff on reception were very good and professional beyond the establishment they are working in.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Bridgehouse_10,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Ambassador member. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth in mid-November, 2013 on our vacation. Our main reason for visiting was to see the military history associated with this area of the country, including several historic warships, an excellent D-Day Landing Museum, and nearby Southwick House. We found Portsmouth to be an enjoyable city - not too big, relatively easy to walk & situated right on the harbor with views into the bay that leads to the English Channel. We also spent several evenings at an outside shopping center next to the Harbor called The Gunwharf Quay, which had a good selection of restaurants and shops, and was nicely decorated for the holidays.

As for the Holiday Inn, we were able to secure a room that included breakfast for two. We chose to walk to the hotel from the train station, which took just over 20 minutes and had us completing our journey in a residential neighborhood. The hotel is in a quiet area, and we always felt safe walking around, but there is not much to do around the hotel in the evening. If you are looking for lodging nearer to nightlife, we would recommend you consider the Holiday Inn Express located right next to The Gunwharf Quay shopping & entertainment center, and a 5 minute walk to the train station (Portsmouth The Hard).

Positives:
+ Quiet location, located in more of a residential area. A 5 minute walk to the Clarence Pier (carnival & video games, great for kids & families) and the sea wall. Also, was about a 20 minute walk to the D-Day Museum (opposite direction from the Harbor).
+ Just about equidistant walking time/distance (20 minutes) between the two main train stations, Portsmouth South Sea and Portsmouth The Hard (which is the one next to the harbor).
+ Pool on-site, indoor
+ Reasonably affordable. We paid ~ $200/night, including breakfast for two.


Negatives:
- Location in relation to the train station, approximately a 20 minute walk.
- Small room, even for England. But it did have the basic amenities.
- No free wi-fi unless you are a Holiday Inn hotel chain member with status. We paid 5 gbp/hour.
- Average breakfast, especially an over-promise on the typically-runny egg choices. Otherwise, a standard selection of breads, cereal, breakfast meats and pastries.
- Fitness facility was small. About 6 pieces of cardio equipment (treadmill & elliptical), but only a few machines for weight training.
- Definitely not a modern hotel. Decor was basic, no frills and the building almost seemed to be a converted apartment building.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiteSeekers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear SiteSeekers2000,

Thank you for your candid feedback. It is unfortunate you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations and location of our hotel, but we are pleased your sightseeing event was a highlight. We are also pleased you did enjoy our onsite pool. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel, and your feedback will help us to do so.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hostel is perfectly located, the swimming pool makes it a great place for families in case of bad weather. The staff were very helpful and even patient as we had trouble with the credit card and on a negative note they do not take Euro's the cost of the wifi is absolutely ridiculous and actually put a downer on our trip as we were there for 10 days and needed to work, the price was about 10£ a day! Even the "cheapest" option was expensive.
Great position near the docks.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view, we couldn't but am sure it improves the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The good bits. Very, very professional welcome and the receptionist couldn't have been more friendly with her welcome. Easy to find with a free car park. The not quite so good. The rooms although clean are tired and do need a facelift to bring them up to the standard expected of travellers today. The car park is very busy so don't be surprised if you don't find a space. We did have a drink in the bar which was comfortable but didn't use the restaurant during our stay. We would stay again but would expect it to be priced as a budget hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank YesChefThanksChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear StrangeNotion,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are very appreciative that you felt our service at the Front Desk was excellent and that you found our location convenient. I am sorry that the state of the room and car park area did not meet your expectations. Your comments will also be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope you will allow us an opportunity to better serve your needs in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstone, Dorset UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Weekend stay was excellent. The staff very helpful, especially the night time receptionist. Got back to the hotel at midnight and had to park on the road outside as the hotel car park was full. It is all pay-for-parking around the esplanade. When I asked about feeding the meter from 8 a.m. the receptionist said"no need -I'll give you a parking permit". Brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us this great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return very soon
Kind regards
Cormac O'Keefe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Have stayed here before but not for a while and we were glad to see the good standard has been maintained. It was nice to see familiar faces like Maz the reception manager who always remembers us and takes time out for a chat.
The hotel is well positioned close to the beach front with all the usual amenities plus a small fun fair. You can also get the Hovercraft over to the Isle of Wight from here.
Bedrooms are ok but possibly in need of a refurb in the near future especially the bathroom.
Having said that we got a good nights sleep and everything seemed nice and clean.
We were intending to eat out but the weather was so dreadful we managed to get a reservation in the hotel restaurant. Food was good but we did have an issue with our deserts not turning up which was dealt with to our satisfaction by the friendly waiter!
Breakfast the next morning was very good. Plenty of choice and nice hot food.
We will come back again as we like the location and the friendly efficient staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing