We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and great staff”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here last year but only just joined tripadvisor. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, going out of their way to help and assist us. We stayed for 4 nights and the room was clean and in a quiet location just as we requested. Family of four, we had a double bed, 1 single bed and a put up bed in a nicely sized room.
Breakfast was amazing, fresh croissants, fried food, cereals, fruits and yogurts with tea, coffee and fresh juices. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was great, choice on menu was vast and the prices were good.
like i said before, we stayed here early last year so maybe they have done this now but i find the lack of hooks for clothes the only real thing that could be improved. I wrote this on my questionaire as with 4 peoples coats laying about it would be nice to hang them out of the way.
I will stay here again when we next visit portsmouth.

Room Tip: ask for a quiter room if thats what you need for a nice family relaxing break, they really will help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneK888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is great to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and so much so that although your stay was last year, you have kindly taken the time now to share your great comments. I do hope that when you do choose to return to Portsmouth that we again will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the hotel. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    382
    271
    101
    46
See reviews for
186
384
41
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hexham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here in August whilst waiting to board the ferry to France, We stayed a Saturday night and paid £164 for a small room overlooking the roof of the swimming pool. It was clean but a bit dated and the bathroom needs to be upgraded - especially the shower. That said the location is good and it is convenient for the hovercraft to the Isle of Wight and Gunwharf Quays - where we had an excellent meal in the evening. Breakfast was standard for this sort of chain hotel although we did have to queue for our table as it was very busy. Car parking was tight on site but theyu do give you a free voucher for the surrounding streets. Overall adequate for a short stay but pricy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hexham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially your evening meal. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay, it is very much appreciated, and I hope we might see you again in the future. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here many times and thought that our recent visit was probably one of the best.

The reception staff were very helpful, the food in the restaurant has improved over the years and is now first rate.

Ideal location for exploring the area - and reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWE1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much, not only for your very kind review, but for your continued patronage to the the hotel, this is a great compliment in itself. I was pleased to read that your stay was your best yet. I hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed with my parents (2 rooms) on the 27th August.
The rooms were spotless and well laid out.
I do object to paying for internet but other than that the place was good.

I went to the restaurant. It was twenty past six and it was supposed to open at six. No staff around. i went back to the front desk to make sure it was open ; and they were surprised nobody was there. When I did go back some staff appeared but all walked into the kitchen as I crossed the threshold. So we sat down and waited.

After a couple of minutes a couple came in and were duly seated by a waiter- who along with his colleagues were then confused because my party sat down. I could hear the whispering about us so eventually I had to call across and tell them why we had just sat down.

Apart from that (and from that moment on) the service was excellent and very friendly and I thought the food was very good.

The hotel is in a good location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonesfordf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. It was great to read both you and your parents enjoyed their visit. Please accept my apologies for the very odd arrival moment you experienced at dinner, however I am pleased to see all went well following this. I hope we might see you all again in the near future. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A good hotel in a fantastic location, 5 minute walk to the seafront, 10 minutes to Palmerston Road shops and restaurants and 15 minutes in the other direction to Gun Wharf shops and the historic dockyards. We loved the swimming pool and spa and even managed a swim before breakfast on our last day. The bathroom to our deluxe room was very small and more attention to dusting would have been good but we couldn't fault the brilliant breakfast. Only other gripe would be the very slow service when ordering a tea and coffee at the bar which took 20 minutes to arrive, after a reminder and was very expensive (£3.30 each). Would have been quicker and better quality if we had walked back to the shops. Parking in the hotel car park was quite limited but plenty of parking nearby and the hotel gave us a ticket to cover the cost for 24 hours so a good deal considering you have to pay to park your car anywhere in Portsmouth unless you are a resident. Definitely worth staying at again.

Room Tip: Well worth getting a sea view if you like watching all the activity on the Solent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay, and even more so that you will definitely stay again, we could ask for no greater compliment, thank you. kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We (two adults and young son) have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel. Two of the three nights were points rewards, which always puts one in a good mood, but I want to report - and to thank the hotel staff- for the excellent welcome and service received.

The location is superb, within an easy walk of the city, station and ferries. The hotel itself is a 1960s block but the communal areas and our room had been refurbished to a good standard. Everything worked. The hotel was very clean. The room was air conditioned and quiet. The breakfast was well up to holiday inn standard. The car park was limited but on-street parking was readily available in the vicinity. The pool was lovely.

I would like to address two points made by other reviewers.

1) All the staff - from the front desk to the restaurant crew - made us feel very welcome and made a point of delivering very good personal service.

2) The restaurant was good. We ate in on two nights. On both occasions there were also large coach / wedding parties in the hotel. On both occasions the hotel managed the needs of both groups very well and the service received was good. The food was well up to standard - good large lamb chops and a steak for me and a beautiful grilled sea bass for my wife. Our 3 year old son was well looked after with colouring crayons and an attractive childrens menu. Staff happily provided melon from the breakfast menu when he asked for it.

This hotel is not especially cheap, but the value received made us happy to pay for an extra night when the points ran out.

Thank you.

Room Tip: join priority club for best welcome and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeEgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. I was very pleased that you all enjoyed all the services and facilities on offer at the hotel. My team and I have taken great delight and motivation from your very kind review, and I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Portsmouth and the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

my wife and I are regulars at this hotel, staying many many times over the last 2-3 years - and normally at least once a month..that in itself says a lot about this place..we would not return unless we were more than happy with the place.

Yes the hotel is not the prettiest of designs, and yes its getting on a bit, but its clean and tidy and the staff are in general fantastic, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are a little tired now, and are not the biggest in the chain BUT I ask you how big does a room for two need to be? how much time will you actually spend in the room? if like us its used as somewhere to sleep at the end of the day and for a relaxing drink before going out for the night. The bathrooms are functional, again clean but again yes they are small..what do you want to do in there???

The positives for this hotel - 1. the location - couldn't be in a better location in my opinion. It is within touching distance of the sea front, some of the higher rooms have a great seaview. you are 10 minutes walk from gunwharf, and only 5 minutes from the wonderful Old Portsmouth, with its lovely pubs and restaurants. In the opposite direction again 10 minutes walk to southsea for a great lively night life and some fantastic highly rated restaurants. if you dont want to walk then taxis are more than affordable - i don't think i have ever paid more than a fiver to go anywhere!

back to the hotel

positive 2. the staff - as i said earlier -the staff are the most friendly and accommodating i have come across in recent times, led by a fantastic manager..they will go out of their way to try and ensure your stay is everything you want from it. 3. Breakfast - always great, a lovely full cooked English breakfast with everything from black pudding and mushrooms through to cooked to order poached eggs, but not only this - there is a whole range of breads, rolls, muffins, pastries etc, along with the continental selection of meats and cheese and a wonderful selection of fruit and yoghurt - I have said it before but it really is excellent value, if you purchase a ticket at reception the day before all this is available with coffee tea brought to your table for only £10.50 - people say this is expensive but look at what you get - its all unlimited as much as you want as many drinks as you want - where else can you get this in Portsmouth for £10.50 - it sets you up for the day - you wont want lunch!

final positive for this review 4. the spa/health club - a great little gym and pool, complete with sauna and steam room - a great place to relax after a busy day shopping...

anyway that just about covers it for now - my reinforcing of just how good this place is...we have already booked our next stay...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazNbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you again for your very kind and comprehensive review of the hotel. As you say there is no better recommendation than that of return patronage, and as regular guests with bookings in the future, I can only thank you sincerely for your continued support of the hotel and my team. It is our pleasure to be of service to you both, and I hope we will be permitted to continue so for many years to come. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,497 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing