We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend, everything we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good weekend, everything we expected”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights when visiting family in Portsmouth, paid a good price for a room only basis in a standard double.

Check in was smooth, difficult to find somewhere to park in the small car park but reception will give you a permit for the road just outside if you can’t find anywhere. We were offered ‘discounted’ breakfast vouchers on check in – usual price £12.95 buffet style, offered for £10.50 if bought the night before – a rip off if you ask me! The hotel is near to Gunwharf Quays and the town centre so there are plenty of other places to enjoy breakfast.

The room was of decent size. When entering, there was lots of storage space to the right, although a lack of hangers, tea & coffee making facilities and trouser press.

Bathroom to the left, could really only be used for showering as the bath was very small. Water of good temperature and pressure. You have to turn the knob on the shower with some force to get it to work (we thought it was broken until the receptionist told us this trick, so use elbow grease!)

Bed was hard and for the first night I had a very disturbed sleep because of having to change position frequently. Gave you a choice of ‘hard’ or ‘soft’ pillows which was good. TV very good, LG flatscreen with good channels. Small table and 1 chair to the left of the bed near the window.

Our room overlooked a part of Southsea common which was lovely. The room itself was quite noisy; you could hear a lot of other people moving around. Even with the windows shut we were woken on Sunday morning by the ‘boot camp’ class taking place on the common outside!

Hotel has a pool and gym that we did not have time to use, but it did look nice, and included in the rates for guests. Reception staff very courteous. Taxi phone on reception for ease. Good location.

Overall, if the price was right, we would stay here again when visiting Portsmouth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kt4gerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your weekend and it lived up to your expectations. I have taken note of some of the points you have noted to help us work towards turning your very good stay to an excellent stay for any future visits. Thank you once again, kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    388
    278
    102
    47
See reviews for
193
390
41
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed a few nights end of January 2013 in Holiday Inn Portsmouth on a business trip. My days started with an open buffet English and continental breakfast, which had a good selection and was very fresh, they even offered pancakes. The rooms are average, relatively small and nothing outstanding, even though the beds are very comfortable. It is a pity that you have to pay for the Internet access, it should be included in the price... There is a nice fitness centre with a swimming pool in the hotel, which is clean and cozy, and is a good way to relax after the day. The hotel's location is convenient for both driving, after-work pubbing and for a morning jog along the Southsea. The reception staff was kind and helpful, so that really adds to the experience. Keep on the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biztravellerguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, I was very pleased to read you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel during your visit to Portsmouth. I was particularly pleased to read of your special note to the friendliness of the reception team, who I know will take great motivation from you thoughtful comments. I was also pleased to see you had the opportunity to enjoy a great breakfast each morning, and that the variety was to your liking. Thank you once again, kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We always stay here whilst visiting relatives in Portsmouth
A comfortable night's sleep was had by all in clean rooms
Staff were very helpful especially those on reception
The highlight of the trip was the pancake machine at breakfast
which intrigued our young grandson!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, with a special emphasis on the team service. I know they will take great pride, as I do, from your thoughtful comments. I was also pleased to read of your grandson's enjoyment of the pancake machine, this I think is a definite favourite with all the kids (and some of the adults too!). I do hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed for the weekend visiting our son.. The room was comfy and clean although too hot!..Breakfast was good and plentyful....We (My husband and I) had the best of welcome when we arrived late Friday night and would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainetWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, and your great recommend that you would happily stay here again, it is truly appreciated. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we will see you both again soon. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends.hotel is in good location, staff were really helpful and friendly. would stay again. did not use pool so can not comment.
had food from the bar during the afternoon and breakfast in the morning and both were really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and with a special emphasis on the staff service. My team and I take great motivation from your comments, thank you. I hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelty, Fife
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed previously I was happy to find the usual warm welcome upon arrival. The hotel offers a large comfortable lounge/bar area whilst the facilities within the Leisure Complex impressive. A swim in the pool or relaxing soak in the hot tub after a days work is always welcome. Rooms are comfortable and tidy although possibly becoming quite tired looking. Breakfast is buffet style with the "full english" in plentiful supply. This a hotel definately worth visiting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keltygaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review, I was so pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, with particular emphasis on the service and the great breakfast. I appreciate how valuable time is these days and I cannot thank you enough for taking some of your time to feedback on your stay. Return patronage is the greatest compliment we could ask for, thank you for choosing again to stay with us here. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at hotel over the New Year with friends. Once again a very pleasant stay. The upgrade was much appreciated and the Sea view was an added bonus. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, and for your return patronage, both of which are very much appreciated and highly valued. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your new Years get away and I hope we will see you again soon, kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing