We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great price!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I spent one night at Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel and I can say, for the price, it is a really good hotel. The room was quite spacious, clean, quiet. The decor was good, very clean and modern. We went by bus, so we got off really near the hotel (less than 1 minute walk) from the bus station. We didn't have breakfast over there, we preferred to eat it at Isle of Wight, so I can't comment on the quality of the food. There are a pizza hut and an ALDI supermarket really near the hotel (hardly 3 minutes walking distance). In the morning, we checked out early (at 8 a.m.) so we could spend the day in Isle of Wight and the receptionist kept our bags in a locker so we could pick up later.
About the staff: very friendly, polite and helpul. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlineAPawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    272
    151
    73
    66
See reviews for
283
277
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed six nights at this hotel and I would say its the best Travelodge we have stayed in so far this year, its easy to get to Southsea and the Portsmouth Historical Dockyard. There is a pub which serves food beneath the hotel which is ok. The car park is large and when we were there it was never full plus its free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clwyd
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very good Travelodge. Rooms very nice and clean. Decor good. Bed comfy. Good stay. Just across the road from the ferry port, which was brilliant. Tesco not far away to get supplies and petrol. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrexhamites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Toilet was stained brown both inside the pan and at the water outlet in the bow. Obviously had not seen sight of a toilet brush or bleach for some time. Not nice at all. Bedroom itself was OK, newly refurbished, but bathroom was sorely in need of some attention.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Roger H please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. We are sorry that you experienced a room that was below the standards we expect and disruption during your stay. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have followed this link from Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed one night at this Travelodge before going on a cruise and were really impressed with it. There is a large free car park and the location is convenient for shops, pubs and restaurants. We walked into Portsmouth centre which was really pleasant. Our room was spacious and appeared to be newly decorated and furnished. The bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows. The staff were really friendly and gave us a map to assist with our exploration of Portsmouth, they were also able to advise on local restaurants and kindly gave us extra tea and coffee for the room which we appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oundle
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

easy to find as you leave the M271 .drive beneath the Hotel to a large car park tucked in behind a Brewers fayre or similar with huge indoor activity centre for kids and next to office blocks makes this a surprisingly quiet location(see below). there was another pub not far away that also had food available. we took our own toiletries and our room was shower only. we had an early ferry crossing so did not have breakfast. Advance purchase rate @£40 pr pn . Room 330 was quiet as requested but unfortunately the curtains were not thick enough and ill-fitting so let in a lot of light Our only moan was the arrival of the Refuse truck and a bottle bank being emptied at 7 am on a Monday morning but as we had to be on the ferry by 1030 (approx 10 mins drive to the port) it didnt spoil the stay. Staff a bit off-hand but no major issues
.

Room Tip: surprisingly it would probably be quieter to have a road facing room ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Super Mare
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Good value for money, has an excellent Restaurant underneath. Great Sunday lunch and daily breakfast. Very clean room, very good reception from staff on arrival. Informative! Good parking. We were on foot having travelled by train (wife in mobility scooter) Very difficult to navigate roads and paths to hotel from station and Taxi is under £5. Would stay there again, central for Mary Rose museum and Southsea fair.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank tarkan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,510 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#27 of 38 in Portsmouth
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Property: Travelodge Portsmouth
Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing