We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy pub with quick, friendly service.”
Review of The Dolphin

The Dolphin
Ranked #201 of 653 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $3 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Dolphin, Portsmouth. We’re Portsmouth's oldest pub; traditional with some modern essentials, located right in the heart of the City. We offer free Wi-Fi, great food and a varied range of real ales and refreshing beers. The Dolphin is equipped with a fantastic beer garden to the back of our pub, perfect for those spring and summer evenings. Families with young children are welcome to dine with us until 8pm.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy pub with quick, friendly service.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is the first time we have eaten here. The pub was warm and cosy with an inviting atmosphere on a chilly night. The bar staff and waiting staff were very polite,friendly and helpful (all smiling) It is fair to say it was not a busy night for them in the restaurant and this was to our advantage of course. The food was well presented, hot and delicious and was, we feel, good value indeed. There were three of us dining and all of us enjoyed the experience.
We are booked in for St Patrick's Night and look forward to having another good experience at the pub.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    109
    63
    36
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice local but needs work.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I frequent The Dolphin regularly to catch up with friends and drink beer. The reason we go there is the good location and atmosphere. The food is pretty good albeit over priced. The beer we'll surprise surprise, over priced and the staff are well just plain rude. Wake up Dolphin and stop this haemorrhaging of your customers due to simple things i.e. Putting a surcharge on the use of debit card and the hiring of immature awkward students. This is Old Portsmouth not Chelsea.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Burns Night Celebration”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We enjoyed the food and entertainment at the Burns night celebration, very much.

The staff were polite and friendly, working hard on a busy evening.

It was packed full of diners and consequently the main course was a long time being served (1 hour and 20 minutes after the soup). There was little space to eat comfortably as we were so packed in around the tables..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
669 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Saturday night dinner”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Feel that the Dolphin has lost some of its appeal. Used to really enjoy my visits but feel the service,quality and local pub feel has gone. All the credit card charges and add ones seem a little over the top in times when pubs are scraping for business. Hope it picks up soon.

On a foot note when I emailed a polite question in regard to a vegetarian option at one of their special evening I received a reply email that just said NO" , again please try an be a bit more articulate when responding to your future customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Complete and utter rubbish”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We went to The Dolphin for Christmas Day lunch 2013. A total disappointment. I have written to the owner on 6 January 2014 outlining our experiences and asked for an apology and refund. The owner has not responded.
We were completely mislead from the moment we booked and reserved our table for Christmas day, and the owner and staff withheld from us there were infact two sittings for Christmas day. So when we arrived at 1pm to have a drink and to sit down we were told then, and only then, that our table would be available from 3pm. There was no effort by the owner or any staff to explain why we had not been told this and no apology was forthcoming. We had to wait around for the best part of two hours waiting for our table to become available, and when it did eventually at 3.15pm the table was not wiped down, laid up, or anything. The people sitting there before us infact moved themselves because some in our party were getting so upset at the delay and waitng around that they took their last course and ate it at the bar. They aplogised to us and blamed the slow service for them not being finished.
Having then helped opurselves to cutlery and asked for the table to be cleared, we had to repeatedly ask for everthing, and eventually our pre-ordered starter arrived at 4.10pm! The rest of the food was equally delayed and can only be described by me as utter rubbish. Processed turkey roll, frozen and diced mixed carrots and swede and sprouts. There were no fresh vegetables, no roasted parsnips, no bread sauce, no pigs in blankets and agian we had to repeatedly ask for canberry sauce, gravy and were eventually told there were no Christmas crackers left either! Christmas day lunch for us and our friends was completely ruined and when we asked to speak to the manager / owner (on three seperate occassions) nobody would come and speak to us. I guess so many other complaints were being made, all of a similar nature. The Dolphin staff and the owner were ill prepared and overwhelmed and really did not care. Christmas day for the owner was purely driven by his own greed. The staff and service were equally as appaulling as the food, and all very miserable and uniterested, infact they told us they were fed up and wanted to go home. I cannot emphasise enough how disappointing this was for all ten of us and just how uniterested the owner is and has made no attempt at any apology on the day itself or at any time since.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin-Glynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin also viewed

 

Been to The Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing