We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week meal out”
Review of Yan Woo Restaurant

Yan Woo Restaurant
Ranked #175 of 651 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
669 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Mid week meal out”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

All ways a good meal and the service is fast and polite. Considering is poor location with night time parking a bit like the Bronx once inside your treated to an exception meal. My favourite is their sesame prawn toast which is amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We've visited this restaurant many times over the years and have never been let down. We've always opted for the all you can eat option and the food is freshly cooked and beautiful. It's great for groups as you can order a bit of everything. Plenty of choice of food, starters, soups and I'd guess around 30 main meals. Have never been disappointed. Free car parking around the back of the restaurant. It's a fairly small place and my only gripe is when it's busy it can feel like your a bit too close to the next table but if your after a Chinese feast this is the place to go. I'd recommend booking especially at the weekend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very good little restaurant.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We ate here after having read previous reviews and not coming from Portsmouth we didn't know the area or any of the restaurants. We were starving, having just come off the ferry so wanted somewhere near to where we were staying and this was just around the corner (Travelodge, Kingston Cres).

We were both very happy with the food, which was plentiful and excellent quality. The restaurant itself is small and cosy. We ate there on a Friday night and it was full. We opted for the eat all you can menu, which is excellent value for money and delicious. The food was piping hot and the smells from the kitchen were to die for.

The service was very good and nothing was too much trouble. All in all a very good little restaurant with very reasonable prices, good service and delicious food.

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. In fact, we told the check in staff at the hotel to recommend this place for their future guests.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeeGeesFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“fantastic”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

fantastic food, good value for money, helpfull friendly staff and a great atmosphere, the only thing that lets it down is the toilet

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 11chris_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“4th Visit Just as good as the first”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent last evening at this lovely authentic Chinese/Malaysian restaurant with friends,had the usual "all you can eat" menu and again the quality/variety and quantity of the various dishes brought to our table was quite amazing I particularly liked the Naze Goreng a spicy Malaysian rice ,dish my wife loves the fried seaweed and everyone in our group enjoyed their meal. The restaurant was quite full during our visit I noticed a few people who dropped in on the off chance of a table were disappointed and had to be turned away. The staff were very attentive,pleasant and helpful when it came to choosing a dish from the menu,the proprietor was very much in evidence she came to our table a couple of times enquiring if everything was to our liking which of course it was. In sum did we enjoy our food? TOO RIGHT. Did we have a great evening?YES.Will we be going back to YAN WOO? TRY STOPPING US. Would I recommend this restaurant to others? WITHOUT DOUBT.(but not to the stuck up types who think they are above the rest of us @ ted and rose for example)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brianscotwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yan Woo Restaurant also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Yan Woo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing