We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic but a predictable menu”
Review of O Sole Mio Two

O Sole Mio Two
Ranked #240 of 646 Restaurants in Portsmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family run restaurant in Port Solent marina.
Lytchett Matravers, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Authentic but a predictable menu”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Authentic Italian restaurant - slightly curt but not unfriendly service - not a problem. Food and portions good. I did feel that the menu was a little stereotypical Italian fayre for Britain. Lacks a bit of ambition and could have added a little more Calabrese or Southern specialities.

Always disapointing in England to see no breadsticks on the table, which are always present in restaurants in Italy. So this was a negative.

I am not sure I would go back as it was a little bit bog-standard for my liking - nothing particularly distinguished it.

There was no business lunch offering either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    79
    32
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great pizza”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere at this place. Best pizza in town that's for sure.

Desserts are very expensive tho at £6.50 each and that was just for frozen ice creams, the type you would normally get at an Indian/Chinese restaurant. Shame. There were a couple on the 'specials board' that were £5 but alas these weren't brought to our attention.

Have eaten here many times and thoroughly recommend, but won't be having dessert at that price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flembo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great service, delicious dessert”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was hoping for some authentic Italian pasta dishes, but like so many others this restaurant does seem to cater for a more mainstream Western-European taste, smothering most pastas in lots of sauce. The only one I thought might come close, was the penne and chicken. It was prepared well, I have to say, with fresh ingredients. But just a little too bland for me, it needed an infusion of taste. (How about adding some garlic, or chillies, chef?) But the homemade tiramisu (made by the lady who served us, we found out) was absolutely wonderful, the best I've had! That alone was worth coming for. Add to that the excellent and very friendly service, and the reasonable prices, and my final rating despite the bland mains is still 'very good'!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank windmillfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent dining”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our 3rd visit to this restaurant, and its been superb every time. Excellent menu, superb food and good service, beets establishments that charge twice as much!
I'd recommend it without any concerns.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smuckingfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistant”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Been in this restaurant 6 or 7 times now and have never been let down by the food.
Have taken various friends with us and as yet no one has any complaints.
Well done keep it up.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leonn675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sole Mio Two also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to O Sole Mio Two? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing