We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ladies”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Still & West

The Still & West
Ranked #81 of 642 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Still and West is the perfect relaxed dining experience, with beautiful views of the busy port of Portsmouth and full table service in our upstairs restaurant. With a wide selection of Fullers real ales and wines from around the world unique to Fullers, it is the ultimate dining experience. We are always family friendly and welcome dogs into our downstairs bar area, where a selection of specialality teas and Brewer Street coffees are also available. We have a wide selection of specials changed daily from fresh fish to Hampshire meat and breakfast served with Fullers very own fresh sausage and black pudding, washed down with a complimentary tea or americano coffee.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The ladies”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

15 .4 . 2013 Visited twice during the weekend and still no soap in the Ladies toilets! Where do staff wash their hands! Tables had food on from previous diners.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank VickytheViking187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    274
    135
    99
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Historic pub and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

A lovely old pub in old Portsmouth situated on the harbour over looking the sea, an ideal place to be to watch the ships coming in and out of Portsmouth. The food is traditional pub style and the fish and chips come wrapped in paper. It has a lovely atmosphere and is always busy especially when the weather is good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apse Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“gimme beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

what can i say, beer was good, well srved, polite staff, and even tho it was very busy, still took the time to make sure the Guinness poured correctly

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheJudge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“First class food and service, very nice location too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fast efficent service but not hurried, food was fresh and hot.
Beer is excellent too
Seats upstairs have excellent views of the ships sailing past

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zumo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best view in town, but need to staff up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This restaurant really does have one of the best views of the Harbour from the first floor restaurant, literally it feels like you are sitting right on the sea and could be on a cruise. That makes up for the somewhat lacklustre service, and I remember why as locals we dont eat there very often. It is a real shame because the food was good, and I think it was just a case of then having too much to cope with and not enough staff. We opted for a main only as it was busy, the food was good overall - I had a roast, but the veggies were way past their best - I expect they had been sat around for a while being Easter Sunday - our table was at 5pm. The main problem was that having finished our lunch nobody came to clear our plates for about 20 minutes, and then when they did they asked if we wanted a sweet but still did not come back to clear the plates. At that point I went to the bar to pay and politely asked if they would remove the dirty plates that I had stacked up on an empty table next to ours. The main courses were fairly pricey, but you dont mind that for the view. If they get enough staff on and they are happy to see you, i.e bright and pleased you are there as a paying customer - they will get it right.
This is the only pub too in Old Portsmouth that is not dog friendly either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireQPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Still & West also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Still & West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing