We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I can see where the bad reviews come from but at the end of the day its a caravan park. Staff were fine, camp site for pitching tents looked dreadful and it is a bit run down, but we were in a silver caravan. it was fine, nothing special but just fine. I agree it isnt very child friendly but it was only really a place to sleep, its location to everything is great. i did have to rearrange the rooms a bit to get the travel cot in. I will say however that the heating in the caravan is dreadful and had i stayed there in winter i think it may have got a 1 star. pyramid centre for swimming nearby is great and the centre is a small drive. all the beaches are pebble which i didnt realise until i got there! I wont be visiting again but like i said, its only a place to sleep. I your that sad you spend all your break sat in a caravan watching tele then dont go.

Room Tip: just ring and say your worried about the reviews and get upgraded for free
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 263 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

We went to this caravan park with a 'Sun' holiday, it was me (22) my partner (27) and my son (2). The staff were rude and unhelpful, there was no evening entertainment even though we were told there would be, it says out door swimming pool which is open between may and September but in reality it says when you get there that it's only open in July and August and it's only when the sun is out, the prices were high, the food was expensive, there was a vending machine outside with nothing in it, there is a children's play park but it's huge and I would say for ages 10+, the 'amusements' were 5 or 6 arcade games in a tiny room, the bar and the cafe and the restaurant was all the same room, it was very out dated and in bad condition. Alot of the people there actually live there. The location was good, very close to the beach, which is nice. Close to southsea amusements and a very nice park which has a pedalos and a model village. Also has a natural history museum which is free entry! There is a swimming pool, a spar and a fish and chip shop round the corner, a kids swimming and soft play centre up the road. A nice shopping town which has a morrisons, sainsburys and a tescos, plenty of lovely shops, not far from gun wharf quays. The campsite was extremely disappointing, but we spent alot of time doing things away from the campsite and just saw it as a place to sleep, although I would recommend to take pillows because the ones we were supplied we're like paper. We weren't supplied toilet roll either. All in all, I would have chosen somewhere else if I had done my homework. Never mind! Can only worn others! Haha! Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KayPla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked this site as a Sun holiday and it was our third choice. The caravan was much as we expected-it was in need of an upgrade however it was clean...ish. The shower either gave you scolding or freezing water - nothing in between.
On checking in we were given a leaflet with information about the entertainment in the Nelson Bar with the host Bri W it advertised Bingo, Karaoke, quiz nights and cabaret you can also eat in there. We ate in there the first night and that was enough, boring and tasteless food. The host Bri W is well into his 70's and the entertainment was dire we lasted about an hour. Barstaff although not rude were not exactly welcoming.The locals use this 'club' without buying a pass, I wouldn't go in with young children as I think it can get a bit lively. There didn't appear to be any other bars/clubs/eating places within walking distance. No on site shop The swimming pool which is the size of a paddling pool only opens July and August
On the plus side it is next to the shingle beach and we walked into Portsmouth, approx 3.5 miles which was a lovely walk along the front

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sayxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We booked this as a sun holiday so we don't always expect much but have had some great holidays in the past. On arrival it looked as though we had arrived at a consentration camp...we were early and told to wait till 4pm at which time ourselves and about 5 other couples were rounded up like school children where the rules were shouted out at us and we were given our keys. Caravan was very tatty and not enough bedding for 4 of us, we rang reception and this was delivered promptly. The shower was hot for about 2 mins and then you were left out in the cold. We were charged for entertainment passes and it was so bad that it was funny..a guy in about his 70s did a quiz where if you weren't 70 yourself you had no chance winning. We didn't eat on site so can't comment there but certainly will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

so disappointed this place ruined our holiday, we rang all other holiday sites trying to get somewhere else when we arrived as the caravan stank and was filthy (food under the table!), the table itself was scatched, marked, had paint on it, wouldn't let a dog eat off it, so we went to reception and asked to be moved, 1 caravan left- so we went to it, smaller than our original one, was cramped with 2 children, had no hot water in shower all holiday-had to pay 15 pounds to go swimming to a local pool to get them showered properly, had no bin, no washing up bowl. The site is like a war zone, absolutely no entertainment or kids clubs or anything for children apart from a small playground(we paid for entertainment passes- for what??), there is no shop, no takeaway, the reception is bare, drab and boring and the staff very sombre and unhelpful, there is a postage stamp swimming pool which is outdoor and is only open in July and August dependant on the weather-kids not happy! cannot say one single nice thing about this place. we had to go out all day every day into southsea and portsmouth to try to salvage some sort of holiday for the children. am not happy that they call this place a leisure park!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorry72003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Worst site we have ever visited in the uk - so so dirty everywhere - the toilets and showers were smelly and filthy - Management thought they were to standard - i would not have let my dog use these toilets - lucky my motorhome has on board toilet and shower.

dont visit this park if you a holiday

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The reviews on here sadly were missed by me and my wife before we paid. The place is run down. We and our 3 kids (5, 5 and 2) were camping. Theelectric pitch ground was so stony we couldnt get the pegs in. The staff were rude, ignoring customers stood at the desy, starting phone calls when people were waiting. The only reason it's worth one star is it's closeness to the beach. Most taps weren't working - for water, cleaning etc There were 55mph winds so we aksed after paying our 84 quid for 4 nights if we could use a caravan thats not let out tojust stay in for a night or two as the kids were scared and the pegs were being ripped out the stony ground. what did they say?
"we've got a caravan we don'ty use as it's got no seat padding, just wood that we're not renting.U can use it for another 60 quid." Not even being rented and they couldn't see us as anything but an opportunity to get more money. Half the site looks like a building site. It's not as near as you think to the pier, park etc
We ended up having to pack up and go home 9 p.m of the 2nd night. Don't waste your money. Go somewhere much nicer and we didn't find out til we got there that the outdoor heated pool was only open July n August.waste of time.

Room Tip: choose another site.lol.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.8 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park

Address: Melville Road | Southsea, Portsmouth P049TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Portsmouth
Price Range: $165 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park is ideally located in 12 acres of land by the Solent strait, adjacent to the beach, with stunning views over the Isle of Wight. It offers self-catered accommodation, 2 bars and a restaurant. The caravans at Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park feature a kitchen, a lounge/dining area with a TV and a bathroom with shower or bath. Entertainment is provided most evenings in high season in the bar. The centre of Portsmouth and ferry terminals are reached after a 15-minutes drive. Gunwharf Quays offers many famous-brand discount shops. Southsea Castle is just a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing