We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars!!”

Chiquito - Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quay
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
OR
Order Online
Ranked #177 of 811 Restaurants in Portsmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'South of the border' passion is always served up at Chiquito. A menu of bold Mexican and Tex-Mex cuisine is prepared however the diner likes it. Burritos, sizzling fajitas and tacos can all be customised for vegetarians or those wanting more spice. A kids menu, games and entertainment add to the family-friendly vibe, and there is a great range of exciting cocktails, mocktails, wines and tequilas.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had such a good experience here, made 100000 times better by Jane, she was so helpful and lovely!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Eden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 873 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2019

Stopped in for a late lunch with my partner today,thought we would try the Meerkat offers as applicable here.
Menu is very basic, generic tex-mex. I've ate at Chiquito before over the years and was amazed at how uninspiring the menu has become.

The food is bad. So I had the veggie fajitas which were two small kebabs of roasted veg on a bed of predominantly onion, with 3 wraps. They are definitely operating portion control here as the food looked pathetic on the skillet. The salsa was weird, instead of the typical coriander it contained mint of which overpowered everything.

The food came out quickly, maybe too quickly.

My partner's meal was lukewarm/ pretty much cold. He reported his steak was dry and appeared to of been cut up before it had been cooked or finished cooking. It was apparently a special slow cooked steak? He reports it wasn't enjoyable, didn't taste nice at all, seemed microwaved and wasn't cooked fresh to the order. He also felt the prawns weren't the freshest due to the taste.

The chandeliers need some serious dusting guys! The toilets are in a state and need a complete renovate as locks broken, taps not working, sinks wobbly etc!

Can't complain about service, they were prompt, friendly and willing.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank b0tgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Went here with the family consisting of four adults.
The meal was inadequate leaving my son-in-law still hungry.
I had the chicken burger. It was dry and came with a few chips. The burger was just from the basic supermarket cheap range. It was slapped together cheap and cheerful.
The four small meals and two cokes came to £68.
Terrible. Won’t go back.
Nando’s is much better.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank philc330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Visited here in September with my husband after long day sightseeing and a spot of shopping as we came from Oxford.

I picked from GF menu, was an ok choice. I had the chicken fajitas, the tortillas were like cardboard and over cooked and tiny! Would have sent them back if I was not starving. Tiny plate of guacamole, cheese, sour cream etc pretty shocking really for the price of £15:99 - never again. Totally overpriced food, you would expect more from this type of chain.

My husband had the Enchiladas x2 from the normal menu, they tasted of not a lot, very bland no seasoning what so ever, again pretty poor. He also had the quesadillas and for £5:49 you only get 2, again soooooo overpriced. Not to be repeated again.
The only part of the meal that was nice was my cocktail and that’s a drink!!

Staff not great either, like they could not be bothered.

Chiquitos - PULL Your finger out and sort it out!! Shocking food and quality a big let down. Won’t be returning.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank scooterist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Bright Sunday afternoon popped in here for a bite to eat whilst shopping.

Quite busy which is usually a good starting point.

Service was prompt
Food & Drink....
Ordered a Diet Coke which arrived in a Trade marked coke cola glass. It didn’t taste like any Diet Coke cola I ever had it was really poor & tasted like super market cheap own brands.

Starters were really lovely

Mains were a bit on the poor side
Sweet potato wedges that were “bit chewy” I think they needed to be cooked longer.
Citrus dressing on the salad seemed to missing as there was no hint of citrus flavours.

Didn’t bother with deserts.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank holidayaddict5862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito - Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quay also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Chiquito - Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing