We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“White Lodge, Southsea.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
eastbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“White Lodge, Southsea.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at the White Lodge for one night after seeing show at the nearby Kings Theatre.
On arrival, I was greeted by presumably the owner,and shown into in the entrance hall, my first impression of which was surprise that it was a little bit shabby, quite in contrast to the photographs of the rooms found online. The room however was extremely comfortable, with en suite shower room. As has been mentioned by other reviewers, the White Lodge is situated on quite a busy road, and my room, (No1 on the ground floor) did suffer from traffic noise, as there is no double/secondary glazing to dampen the sound.
As I previously mentioned, The Kings Theatre is a short walk away, as is Fratton Station, so from my point of view, although obviously subjective, the location was very good. I stayed on a room only basis, so cant comment on the food, but the dining room, like the entrance hall could certainly do with a make over. (Entrance hall ....First Impressions!!).
Price was definitely on the high side (even if breakfast would have been included), so poor value for money, however I did book fairly late , so that might have been a factor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RussB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeSouthsea, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Having spoken to staff and from my own perspective we can not understand why you think the entrance hall and dining room shabby? Very little chipped paintwork, all areas dusted and vacumed, no marks on walls or doors, mirrors polished, dining room solid oak floor scrupulously clean, etc!! Would have been helpful if you could have detailed what exactly made them appear shabby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
28
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We only stayed for one night as we were on our way to the ferry port to go to France. We had a small room but it was plenty big enough with twin beds, en-suite bathroom, wardrobe, drawers and a chair. There was tea making facilities which was very good. We didn't find it cramped it was perfectly adequate. We weren't able to stay for breakfast as we were getting a very early ferry but wish we had been able to. Our host was pleasant and very helpful giving us information where to go for an evening meal. Just one point though, the Italian round the corner is not open on a Sunday. Bedroom was very clean and we will certainly stay again if we need to stay near the ferry port.

Room Tip: We were at the top of the house which was a bit unfortunate leaving early and trying not to make any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellekay124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeSouthsea, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I'm pleased that you found The White Lodge " a comfortable friendly place to stay.". The small twin room you stayed in is our best value room, however it still enjoys HDTV, Free Wifi and ensuite facilities.

Hopefully when you next visit you will have the opportunity to experience Rosita's Italian restaurant too.
Regards
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to the Whitelodge with no welcome from the owner. He was very rarely around to ask questions about the city or to get any information needed. His staff were also not very helpful either speaking very little English or being too young to undertake the overseeing of the hotel while the ownerartin was nowhere to be seen. On top of it all the room was noisy, expensive and we had to pay for our breakfast. I thought bed and breakfasts were all inclusive. Although the room was clean and spacious we would not recommend staying at the Whitelodge to our friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeSouthsea, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I take your feedback very seriously and it helps us improve our service for our guests. Sorry that I was not at The White Lodge when you checked-in, but I do occasionally need a day off; :-). One of my long serving assistant-housekeeper's recently retired &I have had to recruit new staff; I have taken on board your comment about their inability to answer your questions about the city and have instructed them to read-up the many tourist leaflets that we have available for guests at The White Lodge, (about 20 different leaflets/booklets which I hope you were able to avail yourselves of.) Furthermore, you may have noted an Information Card in your room which amongst other information provided local taxi numbers and bus route information.

Regarding the provision of breakfast yes our standard rate does include breakfast; however we offer a 'Room only' option for those guests maybe wishing to check out very early or wish to save money on their accommodation costs. When you booked your room you selected the Room Only option; immediately adjacent to this option was the option for Bed and Breakfast which you chose not to select.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Again - I'd recommend the White Lodge B&B for Southsea, Portsmouth area (ships / visits). Great rooms with enough off-street parking (or even on-street (& very nearby) if you can't squeeze in cos of someone else's parking). Again we were visiting our daughter nearby but also took in the New Forest area this time which was great. Again, met by Martin & staff so again - thanks to all.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice & even at the front of the building you are protected from much of the inevit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue'n'Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeSouthsea, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay again at The White Lodge and for your great review. pleased that you like our rooms which are all individually decorated to create an ambience appropriate to the room type. Hope we will be of service to you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our room was noisy just in front of the street. Despite a warm welcome, we had for breakfast not the quality that we could expect to get for a 130£ B&B at 20 mins walk from the seafront. In overall we were disappointed.

Room Tip: Not the one in front of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London2years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeSouthsea, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your review which helps us to improve our service for all of our guests. So sorry to hear that, despite being set back from the street, you found your room noisy. For a city centre location our situation is relatively quiet although, unfortunately, sometimes it can peak.

Disappointed that our breakfast not meet your expectations as this is an area that is regularly complimented on; it is always helpful if guests can raise issues during their stay so we can try to rectify them; as from your comments it is not clear exactly what you would have liked. For the record we offer a selection of fruit juices, fresh fruit, yogurts, a range of branded cereals and muesli, freshly brewed coffee, breakfast tea & a range of speciality teas, full English breakfast and eggs cooked to your requirements, plus white & wholemeal toast accompanied by a range of branded preserves.

Our location in central Southsea means we are ideally situated to easily walk to the wide range of attractions the city offers; typically 15 - 20 min walk or a five-minute drive. We do provide a map on the booking page of our website (and I know that the various online booking agents do so to); provided to enable guests to check that the location suits their requirements prior to booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the White lodge for 4 months on business and found them to be very helpfull and welcoming with good breakfasts and a friendly atmosphere. The rooms wre excellent and good access to other eating facilities nearby. The off street parking was usefull but did occasionally become get cosy as the space is limited.

Generally very pleased and would stay there again if I need to

Room Tip: The front room is a little noisy from the street but not too bad the rooms at the rear are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeSouthsea, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed looking after you for your long-stay and are pleased particularly enjoyed our breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location was very handy to the University and shops,buses pass outside or you can even walk.Our room was at the top and very well decorated and clean.The shower being new was stiff for my wife to adjust until i set it.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeSouthsea, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which help us to improve our services. Yes, being located in central Southsea means just about all of the cities attractions are within 15-20 min walking distance. Hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southsea Lodge
Southsea Lodge
#24 of 34 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Lodge
Cavendish Lodge
#1 of 13 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 34 in Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 38 Victoria Road North, Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 1PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing