We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub with good food and decent beer”
Review of The Lady Hamilton

The Lady Hamilton
Ranked #314 of 653 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Old Pub with traditional cooking
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with good food and decent beer”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was looking for somewhere to eat and discounted two nearby pubs (One because of the clientele, the other was smart but didn't serve anything I would drink). The Lady Hamilton met my expectations, one decent real ale and a good range of pub food. I returned the next evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart - Caroli... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    43
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch on Thames, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“you can not get better”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Only one real ale, but it was Doom Bar, one of my favourites, the food was good quality, good helpings and reasonably priced. Nice staff and customers and they do B&B as well - heaven.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrewack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing roast dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of the things I most enjoy about visiting England is the Sunday roast and I often lament that it is not available other than for Sunday lunch. I got a delightful surprise when I saw that The Lady Hamilton served a roast dinner every day - roast lamb, roast beef, or roast chicken. My husband and I each had roast lamb with roast potatoes, gravy and three vegetables. The potatoes were perfect, crisp and golden on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. The meat was flavourful and the portions were generous but left enough room for a wonderful dessert. The service was great, the pub was full and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. This pub is just a minute's walk from the historic dockyard and well worth stopping in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCanadianHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best Sunday lunch in Portsmouth?”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Just popped in here today for Sunday lunch with a mate, brilliant service from friendly staff, a delicious roast dinner and a pub with worthingtons cream flow on tap. This pub needs no review, just pop your head in and see how many people are eating and you'll see all you need to. Highly recommend this pub.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mediteranean_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Proper Pub”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Bin all the visits to the chain pubs get to the lady H proper pub proper booze all visitors to Portsmouth should visit a traditional pub and get massive pub food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrushent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lady Hamilton also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lady Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing