We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best statue i've ever seen” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of the Royal Navy

National Museum of the Royal Navy
Ranked #17 of 117 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best statue i've ever seen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

the most poignant statue showing a Royal Marine with his kit bag and gun in bronze resembling a fearless soldier protecting the entrance. inside a history of the royal navy, very informative, but not interactive enough and no fun. nice cafe.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    70
    20
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great for all ages and it covers the wealth of maritime history we have in the UK and Portsmouth in particular. Well worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nautiboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was a very interesting museum that told us about the Royal Navy from its earliest days to the present time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A bit boring”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Not the place to visit if you are not interested in navel history, this was wasted on me and i would not go again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chinasworldx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

it was brilliant show i really enjoyed
the one i went in london was better but in term of location i prefer this one
it's not far away from me and i would like to there again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Takj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of the Royal Navy also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to National Museum of the Royal Navy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing