We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find - a lovely bolthole by the sea”
Review of Fortitude Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fortitude Cottage
Ranked #6 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
skichick09
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“What a find - a lovely bolthole by the sea”
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We managed to get a last minute reservation at Fortitude Cottage for a twin bedded room for two nights. It was a quick decision based on reviews and availability and we were not to be disappointed.

Despite the freezing temperatures, we found the cottage lovely and cosy with all the facilities you'd imagine. Comfy beds, hot showers and a little flat screen tv were perfect. It is a brisk 10 minute walk from Gunwharf Quays and we managed to fit most of the Christmas shopping into the two days.

We popped to the pub next door for some tasty fish and chips and would have ventured further afield if it wasn't so bitter outside and we'd already put in a hard days shopping!

The hosts are fantastic - the perfect mix of friendly and charming but not intruding. The breakfasts are also great - with tasty hot options and scrummy marmalade and jam too.

I would definately recommend this bed and breakfast, the price is right, the accommodation superb and fastidously clean with a great breakfast offering. It would be lovely to come back in the summer and enjoy the perfect spot by the harbours edge next time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skichick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    42
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
258
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fort worth texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Absolutely beautiful apartment, very homelike and immaculately furnished. Very easy walking distance to restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gswgsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Friendly, helpful owners, very comfortable beds and pillows, (room a little small but perfectly adequate for a short stay, and plenty of storage space if you were staying longer), good hot shower, tasty breakfast; what more does anyone need? Beverage tray, hairdryer, electric fan and quality toiletries were also provided. All in easy reach of sights and facilities of Portsmouth, with boats and ferries passing window, yet peaceful, quaint, 'old Portsmouth' location. I stayed with my son while visiting the university, it was an easy walk away and the area was very pleasant, with several good eating places within yards.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydaisy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I booked this B+B for a one night stay while I was in traveling in Asia. The managment was very accomodating and help me quite a bit. The actual B+B is very cozy, my wife and I stayed on the second floor and had a decent sized room witth a nice view if the harbor. We came to see th old ships and this hotel is in the perfect location to wal there. The breakfast the next morning was excelent and served in a very cozy and clean common room. I would stay in this B+B again if I ever had the chance to come to Portsmouth again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beechinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester. England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed just one night in the third floor double room and were very happy there.

there was a warm welcome on arrival from Mike and plenty of advice about what to do and see in our short stay. The room was very clean and comfortable with fantastic views, especially from the roof area - though sadly it wasn't warm enough to spend much time out there. Lots to see and do within easy walking distance, restaurants, shops, pubs, HMS Victory etc.

An excellent relaxing nights sleep and then a good breakfast from Maggie in the morning set us on our way but we hope to return and spend more time there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed here for one night in September 2010 with my fiancee in a ground floor double room, and we were glad to have left it at that. The negativity is due to the quality of the sleep we had, which was poor. More about this below.

First, the positives: the room was clean and well equipped, although the TV was quite small and was analog only; there was free and accessible wifi; free parking was available; the room is close to the harbour and within walking distance of the Historic Dockyard and Gunwharf Quays; the bed was quite comfortable; the owners were pleasant and accommodating.

Now, the things to watch out for: first, the pavement is literally right outside the window of the ground floor double. There are bars nearby, and the windows and walls are thin: so at night we could hear every person that walked past the room. Because we stayed here early in a working week, the noise was not really a problem; however, on a friday or weekend it may be a different story, so bear that in mind if noise bothers you.

Second, and this was the more significant thing for us, the pavement outside the room is brightly lit by streetlights throughout the night. During our stay, the room was equipped with some venetian blinds which did little to prevent this light from streaming in through the window. The result was that, for the whole of the night, we felt as if we were trying to go to sleep at midday, and so the quality of our sleep was poor. This problem could be solved by the owners providing a screen or other accessory to mask the light better. Third, breakfast choice was limited compared to other B&Bs in the UK of comparable price.

Overall, we would rate this as an average B&B for the reasons outlined above.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Australian_couple32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed in Portsmouth for one night - as normally we try and pack everything in one day, and wanted to be near the Gunwharf. We found Fortitude Cottage by Googling B&Bs in Portsmouth and once we saw the reviews we thought go for it! On arrival Maggie was very welcoming and showed us to the 'Spinnaker View' building right next door to the Fortitude and gave us the ground floor double room - and a small bottle of sparkling wine! The Gunwarf is literally minutes walk away (follow the 'millennium chain walk' that is carved into the pavement) and the sea is right outside the door - we loved watching all the boats coming into the harbour! The comfy bed meant a good-night's sleep and breakfast cooked by Mike was delicious (they appear to have an award for it which we saw in the breakfast room!) Afterwards we strolled along the promenade in the sunshine down to Clarence Pier and enjoyed the sea breeze. Then it was time to go and so bade a fond farewell......but we will definately be returning!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ric19uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#10 of 38 in Portsmouth
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,140 reviews
3.8 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortitude Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortitude Cottage

Property: Fortitude Cottage
Address: 51 Broad Street | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location.....This bed & breakfast is one of the most ideally located as all the attractions of Portsmouth and Southsea are within walking distance such as maritime England on your doorstep, with the ships, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and HMS Mary Rose, all the Royal Naval museums and the Royal Marines museum. Other attractions include Gunwharf Quays, Spinnaker Tower, Southsea Castle and Charles Dickens birthplace. The Round Tower, Square Tower, Fort Nelson, Submarine Museum and Portchester Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fortitude Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortitude Cottage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing