We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Fortitude Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fortitude Cottage
Ranked #6 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Searching for a cottage in Portsmouth came across Fortitude Cottage. After reading reviews abandoned idea of a 'cottage' and booked for three nights. Wonderful reception on arrival, very spacious en-suite room and wonderful choice of breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble. A great location on water front near harbour and Gunwharf Quays and Southsea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Fortitude Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 383 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Saw this b/b on trip advisor when looking to book a short break.. Fabulous hotel , immaculately clean and what a welcome from the owners.. Everything you could wish for from a b/b. home from home.. the location right on the harbour.. couldnt fault it.. felt like you were abroad sitting outside the pub a minutes walk away, watching the ferrys pass.. Will definately stay there again. We had a twin room , it wasn't en-suite but our own private bathroom was just next to it.. Lovely sized room , with all the normal tea/coffee facilities and the extra little touches of bottled water and a chocolate each.. Choice of breakfast in the morning... Lovely..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betty97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As two budget travellers, we feel exceptionally lucky to have had a chance to stay somewhere as nice as Fortitude Cottage. The location was gorgeous, the room and facilities spotless, the breakfast was delicious, and our hosts Maggie and Mike were genuinely warm and welcoming. We wouldn't change a thing, and would recommend Fortitude Cottage to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateOKates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's such a nice experience .clean place ,nice people ,excellent service .definitely we will stay there again.....nice place to stay near to sea side .....nice nice nice nice nice
Fortitude cottage ,Portsmouth

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've just had a great couple of nights here. Maggie and Mike were superb hosts. Location could not have been better for us to visit the waterfront area. 10 out of 10 for cleanliness and presentation of the room. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. View of the harbour and spinnaker tower from our room. Really good. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

'Superb bed and breakfast in a fantastic location. Rooms very clean,
comfortable and well equipped. Maggie and Mike are friendly and welcoming hosts.
Excellent breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay
again.'
>

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

With the weather we have had this past 3 nights staying at Fortitude Cottage has been an absolute pleasure. We stayed in the penthouse suite which has the added benefit of a roof balcony with 360 degree views giving a stunning vista over Portsmouth harbour including the Spinnaker. Also spectacular views of the shipping passing within a very short distance of the hotel. It felt like the Isle of Wight ferry was on top of us, wonderful sight!!! Parked the car on arrival and it didn't move until we left. Plenty to see withing walking distance of the hotel. Excellent!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cremer201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 39 in Portsmouth
408 reviews
3.8 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortitude Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortitude Cottage

Address: 51 Broad Street | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: $164 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location.....This bed & breakfast is one of the most ideally located as all the attractions of Portsmouth and Southsea are within walking distance such as maritime England on your doorstep, with the ships, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and HMS Mary Rose, all the Royal Naval museums and the Royal Marines museum. Other attractions include Gunwharf Quays, Spinnaker Tower, Southsea Castle and Charles Dickens birthplace. The Round Tower, Square Tower, Fort Nelson, Submarine Museum and Portchester Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fortitude Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortitude Cottage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing