We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - again”
Review of Fortitude Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fortitude Cottage
Ranked #6 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pretty much impossible to fault. In an excellent location, bright and modern decor, welcoming, comfortable, etc, etc. Everything you could want. The place is so clean you could eat off the floors, the breakfast is expertly done and the owners, Mike and Maggie, are friendly, cheery and welcoming. Stayed here three times now and will do so again. No hesitation in giving it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 383 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here one night mid April . Question is would we go back ? Yes. Maggie and mike were welcoming, they are located close to the ferries and shops in the old part of Portsmouth. Plenty of local pubs to eat at and food there is average but ok. We had the penthouse the pictures of it made it look a lot bigger than it is but the room was very clean and well appointed. Tea and coffee facilities were adequate but no fridge for keeping milk and or drinks/water etc cool. I think they could have supplied real glasses instead of plastic ones. The little balcony and roof top balcony which comes with the room is handy, the views are 360 of other roof tops and ferries etc. I did not see any other rooms but this one is certainly decorated for adults (black furniture,gold walls and white walls) the bathroom is a good size (only a shower no bath) very clean and the shower is a power shower. The price for this is normally £150.00 a night but we had it for £125.00 (seasonal pricing I think) access is not really great lots of narrow stairs to negotiate so if you have young family and pushchairs this will be an issue. If you have difficulty with stairs then perhaps the ground floor is better but not sure what the rooms are like there. Parking is an issue I had to park across the street in a car park, only to find out after I checked in that they do have temporary parking permits for the street outside (if you can get a spot) in all the place was nice but I don't think it's family friendly it's more towards adults in my opinion. And the price I felt was a little on the high side for the rooms on offer. The breakfast was good and maggie/mike were attentive. The wi-fi I did find a problem it was a little hit and miss in the penthouse and the TV went funny on us when the ferries went passed. (This has been a problem in the past, which they thought was not an issue any more owing to being digital) so if you want something very clean and well presented bearing in mind the issues I have raised then this is a good place. Would I actively seek to stay there again? I think I would look around at other places first . The price,the wifi, the TV and size or rooms would cause me to hesitate.

Room Tip: For size of room, the penthouse, I did get a peek at one other twin room on the second floor at it l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this wonderful B&B. Maggie & Mike made us feel at home, very welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. Great view from our room and one of the best breakfasts you could wish for. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely B&B in a perfect location in portsmouth. The room was very clean and well appointed. Mike and Maggie are a charming couple and were perfect hosts. The breakfast was great. Would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night for business, lovely room, modern decor, all clean, brilliant power shower. All important Wifi worked no problems (so often this can be a bit hit & miss in B&Bs). Owners friendly and cooked the best poached eggs I've ever had! Would recommend for business or leisure stays. Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkLandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at a briliant B & B in Prtsmouth, owned by a lovely couple called Mick & Maggie,
fully recommend the pent house suite was amazing with wonderful views of the horbour,
good hearty breakfast. Thanks again.
Peter Mary from seaford.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Really smart, modern B&B based in the old harbour area of Portsmouth. Highly recommended!! Thanks to Maggie and Mike for a warm welcome, a great breakfast and kindly printing off our ferry tickets at the last minute - much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 39 in Portsmouth
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortitude Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortitude Cottage

Address: 51 Broad Street | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: $164 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location.....This bed & breakfast is one of the most ideally located as all the attractions of Portsmouth and Southsea are within walking distance such as maritime England on your doorstep, with the ships, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and HMS Mary Rose, all the Royal Naval museums and the Royal Marines museum. Other attractions include Gunwharf Quays, Spinnaker Tower, Southsea Castle and Charles Dickens birthplace. The Round Tower, Square Tower, Fort Nelson, Submarine Museum and Portchester Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fortitude Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortitude Cottage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing