We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW - Fortitude is a little slice of heaven, in a lovely quiet location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortitude Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fortitude Cottage
Ranked #5 of 33 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“WOW - Fortitude is a little slice of heaven, in a lovely quiet location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The owners Maggie and Mike have something quite special indeed here. If you fancy a nice quiet break, in lovely surroundings then this is the place for you. We stayed in room 8 on the top floor and it is a huge room, beautifully decorated, with great views of Spinnaker Tower and Gunwharf. It was spotless. I take my hat off to Maggie and Mike as this is the nicest B&B my wife and I have ever stayed in. A little bit of hotel beating luxury in my opinion, and Mike is a dab hand with the scrambled eggs in the morning as well. Cant wait to go back in the summer. Fortutude Cottage sets the standard, and the standard is high......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    42
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
256
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Booked at the last minute and stayed in the superior deluxe room (8). Offered an early check in and we were welcomed by Mike who gave us all the information we needed to explore Portsmouth. The B and B is in the perfect location and once the car was parked directly outside we walked everywhere. The room was enormous and the attention to detail and standard of finish was impeccable. Breakfast was lovely and both Maggie and Mike could not have been more welcoming or attentive if they tried. Would highly recommend Fortitude Cottage and only wish we had been more organised so we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyDelbridge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lovely welcome good food the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in.
Mike and Maggie are wonderful hosts . No surprise they are always fully booked. Location on the small dock for the Isle of Wight ferry.
We have slept both at the back and front of the accommadation and found both to be very quiet.

Room Tip: It really does not matter which room, they are all excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaMcMullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I would like to complement both Maggie and Mike for the first class service I have had here, the rooms are of the highest standard and the breakfast is to die for, set you up for the day and no grease on the Full English breakfast copious amounts of toast as well and fresh orange juice as well. I had room 6 and I found the room to be peaceful and relaxing with a lovely bath in the bathroom. I will stay here again, next time with my wife, I arrived in my old London Taxi and being in Portsmouth I thought I would have problems in parking, but none at all as there are a number of parking places outside and also a car park across the road, as Mike and Maggie have a arrangement with the Council these are completely free and safe as well. Ideal for exploring Portsmouth or to break up a long journey. Well done Maggie and Mike and look forward to seeing you soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryBHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is the best b xb in the country !!!!
Its about time all other bxb owners looked at this place and learned from it. Gone are the floral carpets
and crazy decore, tacky bed sheets andlumpy pillows .
Breakfast was lovely and warm and not a spot of greasy oil to be seen on your plate.The coffee tasted like coffee.

Room Tip: any room in this bxb would be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Interesting location overlooking the harbour. Took me 30 seconds to realise that as I was dressing near the vast windows, the passengers that I was watching settling on the ferries passing by could also see me! The room had everything: comfortable bed, space, comfortable place to sit, big tv, good coffee and tea tray, soft lighting. The bathroom had an excellent shower and everything else including soft clean flannels.
Breakfast was a treat in a room overlooking cobbled streets and the harbour because Michael knows how to make fluffy, soft, melt in the mouth scrambled eggs!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at Fortitude Cottage. Mike & Maggie are stars, lovely hosts and what a stunning place to stay. 4 star at its best. Huge rooms and great views, and a fab choice on the breakfast menu.

Room Tip: Penthouse room has a terrace AND a roof garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
1.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.4 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortitude Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortitude Cottage

Property: Fortitude Cottage
Address: 51 Broad Street | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location.....This bed & breakfast is one of the most ideally located as all the attractions of Portsmouth and Southsea are within walking distance such as maritime England on your doorstep, with the ships, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and HMS Mary Rose, all the Royal Naval museums and the Royal Marines museum. Other attractions include Gunwharf Quays, Spinnaker Tower, Southsea Castle and Charles Dickens birthplace. The Round Tower, Square Tower, Fort Nelson, Submarine Museum and Portchester Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fortitude Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortitude Cottage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing