We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fortitude Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fortitude Cottage
Ranked #6 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

i really liked it here. the room was very very nice. the bathroom was tiny but who cares. breakfast was nice as were the owners. i have no complaints. when i was here the view was fantastic from the front window but it looked like they are building apartments which would totally block the view which is a shame. i loved old portsmouth it was great.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLEBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    42
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
256
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rustington West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

We have stayed at Fortitude seven times which will give you all some indication of what our opinion is.
The rooms are always immaculate spotless and homely.

The decor in all rooms entrance area and dining lounge is extremely tasteful without being over the top.

The view from the top floor with acces to outside baclony gives a panoramic view of the harbour and out to sea towards the IOW.

It is easily reached and away from the hustle Portsmouth City but within easy access on foot.

Breakfast has a varied menu and will leave you well satisfied

Maggie and Mike are welcoming and friendly with a genuine interest in their guests.

Extremely good value for money.

Paul Jean Rustington West Sussex.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulJean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

This is a lovely B&B in a historic part of Portsmouth, very close to the waterfront, and a pleasant 25 - 45 minute walk (depending on your pace) from the Naval Dockyards and Portsmouth Harbour railway station . Also handy for Isle of Wight ferries. The owners are kind and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and well appointed though the en suite shower room was tiny. (Allowances have had to be made for the age and size of the building.) A particular highlight is the charming breakfast room, with a bay window overlooking the street. Breakfasts are excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Character and location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wellingtonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

We spent 3 nights in Portsmouth in order to visit the Maritime Museums etc. The B&B is 5 minutes by taxi from the railway and on a quiet street. Accommodation was very comfortable and the rooms were elegant and clean. It was probably one of the nicest places we have stayed and the decorators had done a fabulous job. We initially had some problems with the shower plumbing but the owners could not have been more helpful in installing a new pump and fixing the problem. Breakfast was upstairs in a very tasteful room and most adequate - could not be faulted.

There were however some appalling restaurants in Portsmouth and they all seem to close at 6.30 pm!! At one very large place we were told "chef has had a busy day so you will have to sit down and order within 3 minutes". They obviously didn't need our business. At another place where they actually agreed to serve us I had the worst meal I have ever had in my life, so called "fishermans pie" A conglomeration of muck in a bowl with not a crust in sight.

Portsmouth has been bastardised. The trendy huge spinnaker building dominates the skyline and detracts from the historical harbour, the inhabitants are a bit sad and third worldly actually and those in the service industry don't seem to care. Bit of a shame really so we were extremely fortunate to find Fortitude Cottage and its lovely owners.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warminster pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

My aunt and I arrived here for our first time in Portsmouth. The establishment sits directly on the waterfront in the old city part of town. The parking is right across the street and free to those staying
at the Fortitude. We were greeted warmly by the owner and shown to our
twin room. The room was immaculate. The bathroom was the most modern and clean that we stayed in all week. There is a pub called the Swill and West that is right around the corner which was good for us since we were just getting our "drive on the other side of the road" legs adjusted. The breakfast the next morning was delicious. All for 60 pounds a night. We would recommend this B&B very highly.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roscoetalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

Great location. The large double room on the top floor is the best with a roof top terrace.

Walking distance from train station, just take the path along the harbor to Old Portsmouth. The D-day Museum is very "touching".

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flhuskerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

We recently spent 21 days staying at B&B accommodation throughout England and Scotland. This was our first stop for 2 nights and it was not only the best to start with but up there in the top 3. Wonderful position fantastic contempory renovations(we were in the new part) and lovely hosts. Thankyou to Trip Adviser comments where we found this fantastic place. After this we went to Exeter,The Edwardian. Follow our stays, most generally good except Liverpool!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Mistyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortitude Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortitude Cottage

Property: Fortitude Cottage
Address: 51 Broad Street | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location.....This bed & breakfast is one of the most ideally located as all the attractions of Portsmouth and Southsea are within walking distance such as maritime England on your doorstep, with the ships, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and HMS Mary Rose, all the Royal Naval museums and the Royal Marines museum. Other attractions include Gunwharf Quays, Spinnaker Tower, Southsea Castle and Charles Dickens birthplace. The Round Tower, Square Tower, Fort Nelson, Submarine Museum and Portchester Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fortitude Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortitude Cottage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing