We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Fortitude Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fortitude Cottage
Ranked #6 of 35 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a great time. Mike and Maggie where great.Great breakfast and clean and comfotable bed.i would go there again in the near future. Would highly recommened. Would not find anothing better. Close to shops and resturants. Thank you again
Sandra,John,Peter and Frances.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Had rooms 5 & 6. The best ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 383 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was a great find!
We were able to walk to the docks, grocery store, pubs and restaurants. It is situated acrosst the street from a huge park on the water so you can sit and enjoy the views or take a nice stroll. The bus stop is close by if you choose not to walk. The owners made sure we had our pantry and fridge stocked with breakfast goodies. The apartment was beautiful and comfortable with everything we needed and more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank judie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Situated by the harbour on Spice Island in Old Portsmouth is a real gem of a bed & breakfast - Fortitude Cottage. The rooms are spacious, well equipped & spotlessly clean! We stayed in room 5 which had a comfy double bed, a sitting area with 2 chairs, TV & a coffee table with a hospitality tray. An en suite spacious bathroom with a wet area (power shower) & toiletries supplied. Our friendly hosts supplied a hearty breakfast of choice.
The cottage offers free parking, a bonus in Portsmouth, & it was close to all the sites we wanted to visit so we could walk along the Millennium path to wherever we wanted to go. Lots of decent places nearby to eat too. Old Portsmouth is well worth a visit & Fortitude Cottage is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 5 was quiet & on ground level. Top floor room has a 360 degree panoramic view from the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenDroitwichSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at fortitude cottage for 3 nights as a long weekend break and reserved two rooms- the penthouse suite and room 6. Upon checking in, the rooms are spread over two buildings, which were immaculately maintained. I bought my daughter and grandson along on this break, and Maggie especially was very welcoming towards him, as is not the case in many hotel establishments in portsmouth. The penthouse room has an outside balcony and a spiral staircase leading up to a terrace which has outstanding views of portsmouth and gunwharf quays and spinnaker tower. Each morning we were warmly greeted by Maggie and Mike, we opted for the freshly cooked full english breakfast.
We were made to feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble whatsoever and i would highly recommend this b and b to anyone.

Room Tip: my daughter recommended room 6- nice sized bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antsuxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We love Portsmouth and have now stayed at Fortitude Cottage twice. Its a great place to stay, very friendly and helpful. We hope to go back next year. Can't recommend it enough.
We arrived early morning 8:00am. Parked right outside with the use of a parking permit and just went off to enjoy ourselves. Maggie and Mike are very helpful and remembered us from our last stay, makes you fell you are coming home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

An excellent B&B with old fashioned values and where you are made to feel most welcome from the moment you arrive by your hosts, Maggie & Mike. Our room was outstanding and the choice of breakfast available was also covered all tastes. The duration of our stay was was very enjoyable and we are already looking forward to our next visit. So should you be visiting Portsmouth and need somewhere to stay then Fortitude Cottage comes highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 7 which was excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

On our arrival at the cottage we were met by Maggie and Mike who were very friendly and welcoming. Maggie showed us to our room and told us that there was a bottle of Champagne in the fridge for us when we wanted it which was really kind of them. The room itself was beautifully decorated (contemporary style) and had a private balcony area with steps leading up to our own rooftop deck with stunning 360 degree views of the harbour and Old Portsmouth. We spent the afternoon on the rooftop sipping our Champagne in the sunshine watching the world go by. Old Portsmouth is a lovely place with quite a few pubs and tea rooms close by,so you wont go hungry or thirsty very easily. Breakfast in the morning was all cooked freshly to order and was very tasty indeed (and served with a smile). I really can't praise Fortitude Cottage and Maggie & Mike enough as this is such a lovely place to stay. My wife and I will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: The whole cottage looks lovely but the penthouse room would be hard to beat for the fantastic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
688 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortitude Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortitude Cottage

Address: 51 Broad Street | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: $193 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location.....This bed & breakfast is one of the most ideally located as all the attractions of Portsmouth and Southsea are within walking distance such as maritime England on your doorstep, with the ships, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and HMS Mary Rose, all the Royal Naval museums and the Royal Marines museum. Other attractions include Gunwharf Quays, Spinnaker Tower, Southsea Castle and Charles Dickens birthplace. The Round Tower, Square Tower, Fort Nelson, Submarine Museum and Portchester Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fortitude Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortitude Cottage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing