We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

Just returned from an overnight stay at The Queens and had an enjoyable experience. Reception were welcoming although we were asked to pay when we arrived which I found odd and have never been asked to do before in a hotel............I can only assume that maybe previous guests have 'done runners' and not paid their bills - who knows.
The room itself was large, clean and modern. It had a side view overlooking the side road which was ok but could be noisy at weekends as the properties in the road below were restaurants nightclubs and bars. The bed was comfortable and a modern flat screen tv was welcome although it only had the four channels.
We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, we did look at the menu but it didn't excite us enough to try (we only saw one family dining in that evening). We ate in the local street at a great chinese which was packed and I would recommend. We enjoyed the hotel breakfast next day. The cooked food was all lovely and hot with the usual choice of cereals. Could have done with more fruit on offer but the yogurts were good - local and organic.
Parking is free but be warned.......we only left the car to check in and drop our cases up to our rooms, when we came down 10 minutes later it had already had an A4 sheet put on the windscreen warning us we would be clamped.......... charmed I'm sure.
Would use the hotel again but probably ask for a sea view next time. I booked direct and got a good price which I would do again if we return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Famousfourtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    251
    158
    109
    70
See reviews for
195
326
34
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

This hotel was mcuh cheaper than the chain options in the area. Nice big, clean room and comfortable bed. Pleasant staff at reception (although the bar service was slightly painful....). Only about 15 walk into town, nice area with plenty of places to eat/drink nearby. Free parking.

  • Liked — Nice big clean room
  • Disliked — Bar service/menu
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hard_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

Have stayed at this Hotel 4 times love it.
Three times had the same room, a family room as there were several of us, It was large and clean, we had large bathroom, Huge bedroom, and seperate bedroom with bunk beds in too, It was not sea view but we did not want one, The price was very reasonable.
The fourth time we stayed we stayed on the 3rd floor double room, Loved it, it was charectoristic attic type room with dorma type windows, room was huge with queen size bed, modern clean bathroom, Tea coffee fac, and wall mounted TV.
Didn't make breakfast this time as overlaid but on the other occasions it was very nice. The price was very reasonable nearly as cheap as travel lodge but MUCH better rooms and hotel.
Would highly recomend.
Oh forgot Debenhams and John Lewis are just at the end of the road walking distance, could see both from our window. The sea is just across the green. Amusment area too.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing it was all great
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keith6942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

I visit Portsmouth fairly frequently, and always enjoy staying at the Queens Hotel. I got a good deal booking directly with the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, as always. Check in was quick and the staff were helpful, offering to help me take my suitcase to my room etc.
It's convenient to Southsea and Portsmouth, and close to the seafront.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank val50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
There
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2008

The worst hotel I have stayed in. They charged me for a sea view room, despite not staying in one, then argued that they had charged me the correct rate for the room. This despite the bill they presented me with clearly stating "Sea View Room". Also charged me extra for breakfast, and again argued that this was correct, despite producing my original confirmation stating "Breakfast included". The waiter got our food order wrong, the receptionists are rude and the barman could barely disguise his utter contempt for anyone who had the audacity to ask him to perform his job and serve a drink. Awful, awful, awful.

  • Liked — Leaving and going home
  • Disliked — Everything - RUBBISH
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdav12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We used this hotel as a stopover for a couple of nights prior to catching the ferry to France. Apparently this hotel has been recently renovated so as you step into the reception area it does look rather impressive, likewise our room. Overall our stay (me, my partner and 2 children age 4yr and 2mths) was good. we didn'nt have an evening meal in the restaurant, however we had breakfast which was fairly good and there was a variety to choose from. The negative things were the fact the room we were given was quite small considering there was four of us. Unfortunately your have to climb about 15 or 20 steps to enter the hotel which we found difficult as we had a pushchair. There is a disabled access around the back but you have to go up the steps first and into reception to get them to open the back door! Our window view was to the side of the hotel overlooking the shops, this wasn't a problem as we didn't request a sea view room. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. We also feel the location is good as you can get a bus just outside the hotel into the shopping areas if neccessary and it's only a few minutes walk to Clarence Pier. Would we use this hotel again? Probably.

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — The steps you have to climb to get into the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

We have just returned from Portsmouth having spent one night, last Friday, at the Queens Hotel and have to say I was more than happy with our choice. Check-in was dealt with promptly and efficiently. Having mistakenly paid £5 to park, the money was refunded immediately.
Four of us stayed at the Queens. One of the rooms was quite small but with a massive bed and the other room was enormous - same price for both, overlooking the Solent.
We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food and service was first class, the waiters being very attentive. The buffet breakfast was of a very good standard with plenty of choice. Once again, even though it was quite busy, the waiters were very attentive asking if we required more tea/coffee or remove used plates etc.
I can't think of anything negative to say about The Queens Hotel. I am sure we will receive the same service when we return in the future.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — One of the rooms was a little on the small side
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover0856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing