We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victorian grandure”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Victorian grandure”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A bit tired in places but excellent staff and good breakfasts. Excellent position and good communications. Wi Fi very slow!! Good car parking
Rooms a bit old and could do with newer furniture. Good family hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    261
    161
    109
    70
See reviews for
201
336
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Last week we were lucky enough to have our wedding breakfast (afternoon tea) and evening reception at the Queens Hotel.
The afternoon tea was incredible, a real statement. Our guests were amazed by the presentation and quality. Many have said that they will be booking to return to have this again.
The staff throughout the hotel were brilliant. From cleaners right the way through to management, the staff were professional, polite and couldn't do enough for us. Reception was always busy, but no question or request was too much. Special mention to Alison for planning and organising our day, it was flawless, and to Tarek who was on hand throughout the day ensuring everything ran smoothly - he was fantastic. To illustrate this, like any bride and groom we didn't have time to visit our evening buffet, so when we adjourned to our room, staff had arranged for a selection of our evening food to be ready and waiting for us...just what we needed at the end of our long day.
I stayed at the hotel the night before my wedding and the room was huge! It was clean, well presented and had everything I needed. Again staff were on hand checking that we had everything was ok. The night of the wedding, we stayed in the bridal suite...again huge! Beautifully presented, amazing views of the common and of the Solent, we couldn't have wished for more.
Breakfast each morning was again excellent with a wide variety of food to choose from. The day after our wedding, 40 of us headed down for breakfast...a brilliant way to round off what we felt was our perfect wedding.
Thank you so so much!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColgateFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

It will take me some time to find a better hotel in Portsmouth.
On arrival and throughout the stay the staff was lovely. They were always there to answer questions we had. The hotel location was perfect, it is a little bit out from the high street but it is perfect, none of the trouble and noise associated with staying near the city centre. The rooms were very nice but need a few improvements.
The food was lovely and the service was very good, and the menu was fairly broad.

I bet to disagree with the previous review, as on arrival we could check on straight away even being much earlier than the 2pm check in time, and all the receptionists were helpfull and lovely. Always adorable to talk to.
Wonderfull staff, nothing was otoo much trouble for none of them.
Breakfast was delicious and served in such a beautiful room that made the meal an experience.
Sea view room was a must!

The general atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxed and it definitely made for a better trip away, can't wait to stay again which will definitely be soon! The Queens hotel is a precious gem overlooking the sea.
Shame that some people are too misarable to realise that!

Room Tip: Seafacing rooms are worth paying extra for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Greeted by unhelpful recetionist who told us our room wasn't ready when it fact I had previously been advised we could have it earlier. 2nd adjoining room was more like a cupboard. Wallpaper hanging off the wall. Noise from street below even though on 3rd floor. Food at wedding reception was stone cold.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feltzy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We read some of the reviews for this hotel prior to booking and due to some comments made we did hesitate but decided to run with it just to get away and i am so pleased we did! Yes the hotel could do with a referb in some areas but our room on the 2nd floor (delux with balcony) was clean tidy and just what you would expect. Staff were great and very helpfull right from our arrival and what made it all was the late check out so we had our room until 2pm on day of departure. Just out of interest the dinner menu was a little limited but everything we had was great (apart from the anchovy in my husbands ceaser salad but that was our fault for not reading the menu correctly)thanks to you all at the Queens for making our stay a great one we will certainly look forward to staying again soon

Room Tip: GGo Delux and try and bag a balcony and sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We booked a private room for a friends and family event and were royally looked after!

The buffet food was very, very good and the waiting staff tended to our every need. We thought we might be there for a couple of hours but ended up staying into the early evening. No attempt was made to ask us to leave and the staff just discretely got on with tidying and organising.

Queens Hotel, you did us proud. Many thanks!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Old building with all of the nuances and special challenges expected. Nonetheless, the atmosphere is quiet and simple with normal service and usual (frugal) UK amenities. Walking distance to many activities, restaurants. A quick taxi hop to city center. No complaints. Request a sea view room with balcony - lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing