We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jaded” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Jaded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Queen's could and should be a fantastic asset to Southsea. However, the only word that I can think of to describe it is "jaded" not even shabby chic. It needs to have a jolly good overhaul and bring it up to date, not necessarily modern, keep all the tradition and history, but a good clean and tidy up wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lennohinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    251
    158
    109
    70
See reviews for
195
326
34
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in room 120 where the floodlights lit the whole room at night. Stuffy room as there was no air conditioning so we opened the window and it was very noisy.

Horrid bed, which was very uncomfortable

Had to leave at 11.30pm as could not sleep despite trying to block out light with towels as the curtains were too small.

At check-in we stated that it was our anniversary and that we wanted something special, yet we were put in the worst room possible and this completely ruined our stay.

Very disappointed and wished now we had stayed at the nearby Premier Inn which would have been so much better.

Southsea is lovely and the nearby restaurant Yonkers was amazing.

Will never stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichardD19Wimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Bodmin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Whilst every member of the staff at this hotel were brilliant, the 1970s rooms let this well placed hotel down. They were clean (ish) but the decor needs updating. I stayed during a very windy day, and the old windows weren't able to block out the sound of the wind. There was also gaps in the windows, so I had a chorus of howling wind and draft coming into the room! All night!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I always stay here when I travel to Portsmouth on business. The rooms are nice and large and the staff very helpful. I like a bath rather than a shower and mostly they manage to find me a room with a bath.

Room Tip: Some rooms have asea view and this is lovely to wake up to. ask if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FiltaGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Now less than 2 hours drive from London on the A1 courtesy of a new modern tunnel, your drive is completed with good free car parking facilities for hotel guests at the Queen's Hotel which has a great central position for walks along the coast both east and west to Southsea's/Portsmouth's two piers. There is a great view from the hotel rooms across a green area and then onto the sea, overlooking the Solent and then onto the Isle of Wight; and one is introduced to an interesting variety of passenger boats, hovercraft and hydro type vessels passing along the Solent
All the double rooms, that my wife and I have stayed in, are very spacious and comfortably furnished, including beds easy to fall to sleep on and with good separated en suite bathroom facilities plus tea/coffee making facilities in the room. If you like good quality, plush, carpets and thick heavy curtains and drapes, then this is the hotel for you. The artistic entrance hall is very impressive, as is the large dining room with its separate modern bar, each with their own views over the Solent and it is a pleasure to have breakfast in such surroundings. There is also a new special bar and grillroom.
Michael K [London]

Room Tip: All the rooms with a sea view, are good value especially the ones with balcony. The reason for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Queens Hotel made us feel like we had stayed a night on the Titanic. Stuck in time this grand hotel sticks out like the Titanic would do if it was docked in Portsmouth harbour in 2013. As you approcah you are over come by the architecture and grandness to be greeted by some very pleasant staff. You then walk through the grand hall and up the widest staircase you have ever walked as you make your way to the bedrooms. Finally you get to your bedroom and it is exactly what you would expect had you booked a 1st class cabin on the Titanic in its original glory. Small but comfortable and quirky! The thing I liked about the hotel which you don't get in most is although the room was basic you have plenty of tea bags and milk most hotels now just give you one milk and one tea bag. The breakfast was superb absolutly lovely and again attention to detail brilliant , hot plates. Overall the hotel was very good.

Room Tip: Sea front gets hot on a sunny day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I had booked a two night break in Southsea - something we do regularly. We choose to stay at the Queens for its superb position right overlooking the Solent and we like its slightly old-fashioned air. On this occasion my husband had to be taken to hospital by ambulance with heart problems and spent two days there. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and supportive from helping us with the ambulance transfer to assuring me there was no need to bother about my stay until he was sorted out. I was uncertain each day whether I would need to continue to stay and when our daughter joined us without notice they found a room for her without fuss, at a time when the hotel was very busy. All the staff without exception were considerate and helpful. Then when we finally checked out without notice they were efficient and speedy. We shall of course return to the Queens in happier times but as pensioners it was lovely to be cared for so kindly.

Room Tip: The first floor premium balcony rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing