We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queen's Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sandringham Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Rydeview Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
299
301
180
119
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
301
180
119
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsunday carverylovely old hotelisle of wightsea frontthird floorbuffet stylelovely roomgunwharf quayshistoric dockyardedwardianweddingtlcfoyerseafronthovercraftvenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
789 - 794 of 986 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed here twice on business and wouldn't by choice, but my company have an account here. It is typical of the many seaside hotels that would have been nice back in the day when people used to holiday in the UK more. The building is grand from the outside, but once inside is tired and outdated.
The beds are very uncomfortable and on this particular stay, I had a single bed which was small and like sleeping on the floor. The room was an internal one, with no view. I had a terrible nights sleep and would have been better off sleeping in the car. The rooms are very warm even with the window open and no heating on.
The breakfast is very average, the WiFi is limited and slow and the water pressure is very low, so the shower trickles out. This area hasn't got any decent hotels as I've stayed in a couple of others which where disappointing. The best option is probably the Holiday Inn at the Gunwharf Quays. It's a little expensive, but is next to an excellent shopping centre with a Vue cinema and good restaurants.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Rupert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was a little worried by some of the previous comments but on arrival found that there was no real cause for concern. Our room was a bit small but well decorated. The bathroom was clean & had a hand held shower which i prefer, no signs of anything broken. Window in the bedroom was a bit dafty but this was soon sorted with a bit paper stuck in it. only disappointment was that the tv only had 5 channels. The bar was reasonably priced with great views across the common. The road next to the hotel had lots of restaurants, pubs & shops so we didnt have to go into Portsmouth to eat or drink unless we wanted to. Breakfast had everything you could want to set you up for the day. A great location to get around Southsea & Portsmouth, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The moment we entered the car park, the regal feel was upon you. The red carpet laid out and up the stairs to the entrance door really did give the feeling of being a special visitor.
The staff friendly and welcoming on arrival and had everything ready for us, i just had to sign the 'No Smoking Policy'
The bedroom was lovely, dark wood furniture and antique lamps gave a beautiful ambience. We had booked a double room and expected a double bed but much to our delight we had been given a 'super king sized' bed at no extra charge. Super sized and super comfortable. A soft and a firm pillow for each side of the bed. A thick warm fleece throw for extra warmth at the bottom of the bed.
Everything was spotless and clean. Huge fluffy white towels on a heated radiator gave the 'Mmm' factor to the stylish bathroom. Not a speck of limescale on the silver taps.
The next time we stay here, we will definitely be eating in the restaurant as the food looked amazing.
The decor in the lobby and lounge areas was very much olden day Victoriana. Marble pillars and sumptious chairs and couches.
The bar was a cross of this and modern day but does not look odd in any way.
We loved our stay here and would highly recommend this to anyone. Literally 2 minutes walk across Southsea Common to the beach. Boutiques and Department stores again 3 minute walk in the other direction. Night life with restaurants, bars and clubs again on the doorstep. It is indeed in the perfect location.
Cheaper than the Hilton and with alot more class and elegant chique.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We have often stayed here and usually rave about out. But this stay we were in a box room and very disappointed with the whole experience. We would have liked to complain but no one bothered to ask us if we enjoyed our stay and no opportunity was provided for us to express our opinion. Breakfast is poor self serve coffee which is luke warm no where near the lovely standard it was. We won't stay here again. Shame the demise of a lovely hotel which no longer deliver.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaBeansIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Subject: Queen's Hotel
Location: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, United Kingdom, Europe
Title: A Queens Lunch
ID#: 154641009

Mothers sunday, and my family and I booked Mothers day carvery at The Queens.
Surprise - they must have been the only place that did NOT up their normal sunday carvery prices becuase of all the mums.
We had booked.
Our coats were taken by the cloakroom attendant..........nice touch of service
Shown to our table........... Drinks offered ............ along with jug of water (without having to ask for it)
We went for the carvery........ plenty of meat....... unlimited veg and a good selection of.....
Came to "pud" time, but we were stuffed, so we shared 1 between 2, just so we could at least have a taster.
The service was very attentive to just the right level............

They alos do afternoon teas......... so despite my waistline growing with age ....
we will definteley be back.

Recommend you try it !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews