We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shambolic”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

It could be great but it isn't. The once grand old building has been allowed to go to seed. The rooms are tatty. We were prepared to be positive because of the great sea view. But when the hot water failed and I had to be taken to an empty room to get a bath, the camel's back was broken. Then there was the noise from the wedding disco.....breakfast was fine but we were too shattered to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Queen's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 923 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had 80 guests arriving at lunch time friday. After a few hi-cups regards booking snacks & drinks to rooms the weekend was excellant.
The meals on Friday & Saturday were of a very high standard.
The way the meals were served on Saturday was superb.
The Hotel managers & staff were most helpful & obliging in every way.
Rooms were very nice some with stunning views across the Solent
Our guests have passed on their thanks to everyone involved.
We would recommend the Hotel to others looking for any event

Room Tip: Book a sea facing room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for the weekend with a large group so the hotel were expecting a busy few days. On both nights the main courses although were hot let the meal down, the chicken dry and the steak the following night was over cooked with very little gravey added to it. However, both starters and desserts were very good.
I wouldn't pay £12.95 for breakfast ( ours was included ) as there is very little choice (large bowl of fruit salad) was the only fruit on offer but again the food was hot. You even have to help yourselves to tea and coffee and beware you may have to queue as we did for quite a while on the Sunday morning.
The staff that were around worked very hard and were polite and helpfull at all times.
Late at night the bar staff couldn't take cash! the order was put onto the room number which was strange.
Our room was spacious and clean but I did hear from some of the group that they couldn't turn off the radiator so the room was very hot.
The ladies toilets are in need of a renovation, the room is dark and dingy.
The hotel is afew minutes from bars, restaurants and shops including John Lewis and Debenhams which if very useful and if you want to go to the Spinniker tower and the Gunwharf quays outlet (excellent shopping) you can catch a bus just around the corner of the hotel which run every 10 minutes. We walked as it is only 22 minues away and we felt we needed the fresh are and exercise.
The hotel is in need of a renovation as the location is ideal, there are so many other hotels available, I do hope they can improve in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My Partner and I had the opportunity to have Sunday Lunch at the Queens Hotel, our first Carvery at this fine Hotel. The meal consisted of a choice of three meats all of excellent quality and a large choice of vegetables equally of excellent quality so much so that we returned on the last 2 Sundays of that Month. The service shown us by the catering staff was excellent. We submitted a feed back form and to our surprise we have been offered afternoon tea. (cucumber sandwiches no doubt) Looking forward to this experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillianlynall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked here for dinner on Christmas day for a change to our usual restaurant. Arrived in good time and had a drink at the bar before being called to our table. We were sat at the table for over 20 minutes, nobody came and spoke to us or offered a drink. Suddenly some guests arrived at the next table and within two minutes they had their starters and had given a wine order. We told the waitress we had been sat there waiting and someone soon came and took our drinks order. Starters arrived about ten minutes later and then we had to point out that the table wasnt properly laid and we needed more cutlery. Waited an age for three out of four main courses to arrive which were simply delivered by a string of waiting staff walking aimlessly around the restaurant asking who had order the turkey. When we pointed out that we were still waiting for the fourth meal, salmon, (ordered two months in advance) the waitress went to the kitchen an returned a few minutes later to tell us it was just being cooked and would be another ten minutes. So three of us had finished before the fourth meal even arrived. There didnt appear to be any leadership of the young, mostly agency staff who were unfamiliar with the restauarant and layout. For eighty pounds each this was a poorly served average roast dinner. After desert we waited so long for our drinks bill that eventually I went and stood at the till and someone came and took payment. This could have and should have been so much better. I guess we will return to our usual restaurant next Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank boredinsouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was once a great hotel by the seaside near the Portsmouth of Victorian England. It sits in a wonderful location with many rooms facing the waterfront. Walking the halls, I can imagine it once hosted great balls and aristocratic patrons back in the days when Britain was the world's naval superpower and the sun never set on the empire. But like many seaside towns in Britain, the hotel has faded from it's glorious past. Unfortunately, the owners haven't kept up this old beauty in line with the times. Today, if you are looking for a value stay in Portsmouth, then the Queen's Hotel is indeed good value. However, it should be a grand hotel like it once was, so a bit disappointing today to see that the romance with this old lady has faded too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euromarketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Magnificent building in a prime location, the Queens Hotel certainly makes its presence felt. Definately the feel of opulence, but could do with a little updating. Not too much though, as the hotel still has a lot of charm , and more than enough class. Top class service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RussB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
917 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,015 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $108 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing