We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely return”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Lovely staff, excellent location over looking the common, fantastic to sit on balcony and watch cruise ships dock especially at night when lit up. Fab breakfast little expensive but beautiful surroundings. Rooms very clean and to a high standard very quiet would recommend for couples or families, and we are definitely going to return!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room with view £10 extra but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolMrsparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    261
    161
    109
    70
See reviews for
201
336
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The hotel was well-equipped and comfortable, and the food in the restaurant was particularly good. It was also good value for money. I'm sure we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

i decided to stay here overnight on sat the 30th April 2011, the purpose of my visit to portsmouth was for a relaxing break and to visit the historic dock yard etc. i checked into the hotel, and was given room number 380, as soon as i entered the room i looked out of the window and about 4 feet in front of it was a huge brick wall!! the wall was about 6 feet high and blocked all the natural light out of the room.

i went back down to reception and complained, the young lady on reception moved me to room number 125 which was supposed t be a 'superior double' at no extra cost, great i thought an upgrade to a double room and it's a superior, well i was looking forward to that extra luxury, upon entering the room i discovered that it was overlooked by two seedy looking hotels, whose occupants could look straight into my room (the hotels looked as though they were housing DHSS tennants) i then checked the bathroom and lo and behold it had a bath but no shower!, once again i went to reception and complained, the duty manager got involved, and to be honest he really didn't seem interested in my complaint, when i told him about the faults with both rooms his reply was ' well some people complain and others don't' i was gobsmacked at that answer and told him i was complaining and that i wanted it sorted promptly, he walked away and left the poor receptionist to deal with me.
she put me in a double room with a sea view room number 375 and at last all was well. the hotel staff are great (except the manager) it is very grand both inside and outside, but it need to clean it's act up to survive in this day and age, i would advise anyone stating here to only have a room with a sea view as it seems these are the best appointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Colchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Arrived in the early evening and as it was a Sunday decided to eat in rather than find somewhere and they were offering Roast Beef but was disappointed as meat was tasteless and that went for rest of the meal as well but the staff were lovely and very smiley throughout our stay . Room was great , huge with balcony, well worth the small extra charge , spacious bathroom and large comfortable bed . Best of all the windows actually opened . Breakfast was fine just a bit unadventurous but served in grand restaurant with table overlooking the gardens and the sea and very easy to catch the Hovercraft for our visit to the Isle of Wight . Good value as we had booked on one of special offers .

Room Tip: Pay for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sexy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

the partner decided to surprise me and we went to the Queen hotel. Overlooking the sea, the view was spectacular. the room was really big and was spacious and the bathroom was brilliant, though the decor was slightly old dated, though it fitted in the whole layout of the hotel.the dinner was great, the bar had a great selction and the breakfast was really nice. the designs on the ceiling of the hall reception was really breath-taking. i would highly recommend the hotel, though you need a car to travel round the area. it is close to sea life, though it is easier by car. All in all, it was a good hotel and the service was great, so yes, i would highly recoomend this trip for couples, who want some time way to chill and enjoy the view of the sea. also it is really close to the port to Isle of Wight, which we did go to, but that's another review. S

Room Tip: great for relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moccaTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Dirty carpets, old bathrooms, bad matresses, great location, friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexiskefalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stayed one night. Free upgrade to large sea view room. Comfortable and warm on a chilly night. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff. Paid GBP 98 for double room inc breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyceyBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing