We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - slow service”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #141 of 653 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: JAMIE’S ITALIAN Jamie’s Italian is a contemporary and informal restaurant with a menu that reflects Jamie Oliver’s passion for authentic Italian cooking, delivered with his own unique twist on classic recipes. Beautiful rustic dishes are created using carefully sourced, higher-welfare ingredients for the best flavour, but still at great value. This is a relaxed, affordable and accessible environment where the style, atmosphere and menu can be easily adapted to suit any occasion. KNOWN FOR Child friendly; great value, quick lunch; special occasions; group bookings, party planning.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food - slow service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We ate here on New Years Eve and thought the food was excellent. I had the salumi and pomegranate salad to start, which was huge and tasted gorgeous. My boyfriend had the calamari and enjoyed it, although it was covered with chillis. For main I had the crab risotto and he had the prawn linguine. Both were lovely (although, again, my boyfriend found his covered in chillis). For dessert we both had the trio of ice cream and were very impressed by the selection of flavours to choose from. I have a wheat intolerance and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and talked me through what I could have and any substitutions I could make, as well as pointing out that they offer wheat and gluten free pasta. The only downside was the very slow service. 30 minute wait for our bill once drinks and plates had been removed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    453
    437
    334
    234
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Visited on Friday 28 December with husband and 3 friends. Very disappointed indeed. Starters small and tasteless. All seafood, including Fritti Misto, unavailable. Chose 'special' carbonara form the specials board. A solid pyramid of hard pasta, luke warm, too much chili, no bacon, and certainly no 'silky smooth sauce', as advertised. Had obviously been on the plate for hours, or days, then warmed up. I can make better myself at home. Other food disappointing. Come on Jamie, you can surely do better than this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good experience!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited with a friend and have to admit to being worried - have heard they are all the same, a bit expensive for pasta and stale.

Nothing of the sort, great staff, good atmosphere and excellent food all for a reasonable price. Really enjoyed the atmosphere, a good selection of food and wine and for less than £40 for two??? At Jamies? Would go again and again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
Level Contributor
395 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Back to its Best”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went to Jamies when it first opened and thought that it was excellent.Then we found that the standard dropped and we stopped going.We then thought that we would give it another try just before xmas. We were very pleasantly surprised .We had Jamies Italian feast which was superb and reasonably priced.I have to record that the service as usual was excellent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank glyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice food, but not ideal for a business lunch”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was good to go to a restaurant near Christmas and not be expected to choose from a set menu. The full a la Carte was available and was lovely. Drinks service could have been a bit more attentive as we had to keep calling the waitress over, rather than her notice glasses were empty.

Bit of a downside as it was a business lunch was that it was absolutely rammed full of children, buggies, etc. The restaurant is large enough to segment it so that those needing a quieter dining environment are catered for.

But I would definitely go back for a social occasion and it's a great plus that they now take bookings (they didn't when it first opened).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ItchyFeetPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing