We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth a visit”
Review of D-Day Museum

D-Day Museum
Ranked #8 of 117 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beginning on 13 March 2017 the D-Day Museum is undergoing a complete refurbishment and is not open to the public. This is part of our exciting £4.9 million Transforming the D-Day Museum project, assisted by the Heritage Lottery Fund. Read more about this exciting project here. The Museum will re-open in spring 2018, with completely new displays about D-Day and the Battle of Normandy, told through the stories of those who took part, and an exciting programme of events. The following text applies to our old displays, and will be updated in due course to reflect our new exhibitions. Portsmouth's D-Day Museum is Britain's only museum dedicated solely to covering all aspects of the D-Day landings in Normandy, France, on 6 June 1944. D-Day was a turning point in the Second World War, and a moment when the course of world events depended on the Allied troops taking part. Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother opened the Museum in June 1984, on the 40th Anniversary of D-Day. The Museum’s centrepiece is the magnificent Overlord Embroidery. At 272 feet (83 metres) in length, this is the world’s longest embroidery of its kind, and the Twentieth Century equivalent of the Bayeux Tapestry. It was commissioned by Lord Dulverton of Batsford (1915-92) as a tribute to the sacrifice and heroism of those men and women who took part in Operation Overlord. Designed by artist Sandra Lawrence, the Embroidery took five years to complete. An accompanying multi-language audio commentary brings the events of the Embroidery to life. The Museum's unique and dramatic film show uses archive film to create a moving experience that captures the wartime atmosphere. Extensive displays of personal memorabilia, maps, uniforms, vehicles and other historic artefacts complete your visit to the D-Day Museum. Full size dioramas include the map room at the Allied headquarters at Southwick House, and a Horsa glider that has landed in Normandy. A real LCVP landing craft is on display, as is a rare Beach Armoured Recovery Vehicle (BARV) tank. Please see our website for more details.
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

well worth a the visit very informative on the portsmouth area in the war,
tapestry was good . quote "visit england " as said in another post to get buy 1 get 1 free on adult
tickets

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ringw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    207
    52
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good morning out”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

very poignant. very enjoyable. if you want to get all the details, then dont take young kids. and quote "visit england" for 2 adults for the price of 1

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

You'd think that Portsmouth, a critical hub for the D Day landings, would spare no expense in commemorating this remarkable event with a first-class museum, but sadly, that's not the case. It's worthwhile visiting this museum but you might come away disappointed.
I confess I wasn't much interested in a contemporary tapestry, in the tradition of the Bayeaux Tapestry, that illustrates aspects of the landings, or the film that struggles to sum up World War 2 in about 10 minutes. I was disappointed to see that there weren't that many authentic items on display and how little there was relating to the role Portsmouth itself played. Surely there must be more photographs, news clippings etc to bulk up the displays. For me, the best part were the oral histories of local people who lived through this momentous time - I could have listened to them for hours.
There is a cafe but it was closed (January) and recorded guides in various languages are available for hire. It appears to be accessible to people who use wheelchairs but there's not much of interest for small children.
I end with a complant. One particularly jarring note was a cardboard 'soldier' with a cut-out face so you can put your face in it and have your picture taken 'in uniform'. This silly contrivance is best kept on the sea-front or better still, in a cupboard somewhere; it's highly inappropriate in a museum that should commemorate not just the success of this crucial moment in history but the countless men and women who lost their lives at this time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, Manager at D-Day Museum, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We are working towards redeveloping the D-Day Museum so that we can tell the story of D-Day even better, using more modern technology and making even more use of veterans' memories than we do now. This is a long process though, so it is likely to be several years before the museum can be redeveloped. We have about 200 wartime artefacts on display, from items relating to the Home Front, to tanks, a landing craft and General Montgomery's beret!

A large section of the displays deals with the role of the Portsmouth area at the time of D-Day. This section is in a room that over the winter is often closed to the public because workshops for schools are taking place, which may have been the case on the day of your visit (over the summer, the same room is the cafe).

The 'cutout' soldier is perhaps not to everyone's taste, but is popular with families and children. We hope that the other parts of the museum encourage people to reflect on the realities of war and those who died in the fighting.

Thank you again for your review, as constructive criticism always helps us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“excellent for a one time visit”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Small Cinema inside to view film of the D Day landings, Tapestry (yes one of those inside) Well worth a visit, been a lot of talk locally of it being closed deserves some support.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yonmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Need more.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Well, you need more to this museum. It's well kept and well positioned and a nice building and all but you can get round it in 20 minutes with a heavy emphasis on the tapestry and the cinema so if you don't want to watch a film about D Day .... there's plenty on TV after all .... and you're not into the craftmenship of needlework then I think you want a bit more to make it a relaly attractive visit, especially at £6.50 entrance fee compared to FREE ENTRY at Fort Nelson.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Havant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D-Day Museum also viewed

 

Been to D-Day Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing