We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This stay helped me cope with a difficult reason...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Vulcan

HISTORIC VULCAN BUILDING HOUSING THE APARTMENT
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
HISTORIC VULCAN BUILDING HOUSING THE APARTMENT
LOUNGE BEDROOM 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
HISTORIC VULCAN BUILDING HOUSING THE APARTMENT
LOUNGE
BEDROOM 1
HARBOUR FRONT 50 METRES FROM APARTMENT
DINING ROOM
APARTMENT ENTRANCE IS UNDER THE ARCH
SPINNAKER TOWER 80 METRES AWAY
SEAFRONT AT SOUTHSEA 5 MINUTES WALK AWAY
DINING AREA FROM LOUNGE
STAIRCASE TO LOUNGE
BEDROOM 2
KITCHEN
LOUNGE
BEDROOM
LOUNGE
FRONT OF VULCAN BUILDING
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portsmouth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
M7539WOru...
Rockland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This stay helped me cope with a difficult reason for traveling”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This apartment was everything that I expected and more. I was returning to England to visit family and friends as well as scatter my late husband's ashes. I was able to relax and "do" at my own rate of speed as well as entertain everyone in my "home".

I loved the character of the building as well as the modern cons - what a difference to staying in a cookie cutter apartment. Plus it was centrally located to shopping, the historic dock yard and loads of delicious restaurants when I didn't feel like cooking.

Neeraj and Joanne were/are excellent, attentive owners - including finding my hidden stash of cash and seeing that it was safely returned to me.

If/when I return to this part of England I will definitely be seeing if they have room for me!

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at a time that we appreciate was emotional for you and your family. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again should you return to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent base for shopping.”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

The Vulcan is situated just a few yards from Gunwharf Quays shopping area.

The building is a historic building with very thick walls and other period features. The apartment was very clean, well presented, well equipped and comfortable.

The Vulcan is situated about 15-20 minutes walk from Portsmouth town centre, but very close to the harbour, the Spinnaker and the historic dockyard.

There is so much to do, and we did not use our car for most of the time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was excellent for shopping in Gunwharf Quays.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan_wil...
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location. Lovely apartment”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed at this apartment from Friday to Monday. Photographs are good but did not fully represent this excellent property. We found it spotlessly clean and with a modern interior. Its position must be one of the best in Portsmouth being within walking distance to Gunwharf Quays shops, the Historical dockyard, excellent choice of restaurants, etc.
When we return to Portsmouth we will definitely stay at this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review, which is most unexpected and gratefully received. Meeting families such as yours makes all the hard work worthwhile.
Thanks for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C C
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Planning my next trip back...”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed in this apartment for a week and it was such a fantastic experience. The apartment was immaculate and had a very warm and cosy feeling to it. If possible, it was even better than the photos, which are fairly impressive. The owners were very friendly and easy to deal with and made me feel very welcome and comfortable upon arrival. The kitchen is one of the most well equipped I have stayed in, and it really did feel like a home away from home. I can't wait to go back to Portsmouth and when I do, I have no doubt where I will be staying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
It was a pleasure meeting you and thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our apartment. Any reviews we receive are always unexpected as it is not our policy to ask for them but it is heartening to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay. Needless to stay it would be great to see you again if you return to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I0na13
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! Better than home!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is the first of my 3 stays at the Vulcan. I returned in May and June 2014, staying in each of the 3 properties owned by this professional couple.
I will return again - the location is excellent - ferries to the continent, Isle of Wight within walking distance. The historical dockyards a short walk. The building itself is listed heritage and reno'd to a very high standard. The owners are particular with cleanliness and stock the flat with high quality kitchenware, linens etc.
What a find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: professional owners, advertised what you got, beautiful condition
Liked least: that I can't live there permanently! :)
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Wow what a lovely review. Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review and and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spans03
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location and apartment”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just returned from a week at this apartment. The owners were extremely helpful, the apartment was spotlessly clean. It was a perfect location with shops, restaurants and beaches nearby. A wonderful base for a holiday in Portsmouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of accommodation
Liked least: Having to leave !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing