We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely comfortable stay.”
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable stay.”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as 3 adults in a seaview superior room. It was lovely and comfortable, with plenty of room. Check in was very quick and welcoming. Breakfast was extremely tasty and served quickly. We loved the new decoration of the breakfast room which made it very homely. Definitely recommend it to others and may even re visit!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claregibb-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Seacrest Hotel and that you would recommend us. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    208
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
180
440
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed for two nights last week. Very pleasant and clean hotel and staff polite and helpful. A nice breakfast. The only negative point is the restaurant is in the basement, a bit of a problem if you have mobility problems as access is by stairs, so you need to bear this in mind. (Due to the structure of the hotel and the water table if you read the hotel welcome pack). Very close to the hover port for the Isle of Wight. The hotel offers parking permits so need to worry on that score. I will stay again very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChepstowBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We note that you would stay with us again. If you do, and you feel that you cannot manage the flight of stairs to the Dining Room, we are always able to serve meals in the small Sitting Room, just let us know. Looking forward to seeing you at the Seacrest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Seacrest is, at first glance in a bit of a time warp. From the outside it is clean, light stone in a terrace of similar buildings in a great location on the seafront. The reception area is pleasant if a little dated and reminiscent of the 1980's but is clean and welcoming. A very friendly and efficient receptionist checked us in and directed us to our room via a slightly scary lift. The room itself was very modern with lots of soft furnishings and a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was small, obviously recently refurbished, very clean and with a very good shower over the small bath. Fluffy towels and bath robes provided. My small criticism is that getting out of the shower/bath requires a degree of agility to manoeuvre around the shower screen without tangling with the loo - no slip mat or hand rail which might make the rather less agile more comfortable with the arrangements. Only one chair but this was not really a problem as it was a real treat to recline on the bed to watch TV while 'sir' read the papers prior to going out to eat. Staff were very pleasant although I did get ticked off for ringing the bell for admittance rather than using the key provided ('Sir' had the key in his pocket and was trying to find a parking space!) On the subject of parking, street parking is free with a ticket from the hotel but, as they were fully booked and we were latish arriving, we ended up in the hotel's small car park in the next street which was a bit of a challenge to get into. Breakfasts are great. Fresh fruit, choice of cereals etc and a range of cooked dishes. The full English was a particular joy - good quality ingredients, served hot and attractively presented. Most delightful of all is the coffee - so many hotels get this so wrong but the Seacrest stars with good strong 'real' coffee and plenty of it! Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemissb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind and most comprehensive review, and am pleased that we passed with "almost" flying colours! It is always a pleasure to hear that a Guest has enjoyed their breakfast and that they were comfortable during their stay with us. We note your comments re the bath and will look at this immediately. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a double room, comfy bed, newly decorated (new carpet), smart furnishings, all very clean, smart bathroom again very clean. Breakfast was good, cereal; juices; tinned fruit laid out and then choice of fry up or things on toast, just what we expected.
We were happy with the location, main purpose for us going to Portsmouth was to go to see the Victory and Mary Rose at Portsmouth Dockyard, it was a pleasant 50 minute amble from the hotel (buses and taxis are available !) either along the sea front or road way. The main Southsea shopping area is about 5 min walk away and there are various bars and restaurants here, which catered to lots of different tastes.
Good value as well and we were allowed to keep the parking pass until we left Southsea rather than when we checked out Sunday morning, which is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your breakfast. However, I would like to point out that we serve fresh fruit at breakfast - not tinned - unless you were thinking of the prunes. I always tell our guests what a lovely walk it is from our Hotel to the Historic ships with so much to see along the way, so nice to get some feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend with my Mum and had twin room.
This room was a little small but clean, fresh and had everything we needed.
Breakfast was excellent with a selection of fresh fruit/juices/cereals and a cooked breakfast
that was not greasy and everything cooked to my liking.
The Hotel is in a great location near to hovercraft for Isle of White.
There is a bus near by to take you into Portsmouth itself or if you prefer you can actually walk if the weather is nice. There are a couple of pubs in walking distance as is the shopping centre.
Points of Interest: Must visit D Day museum and Southsea Castle. Both are practically opposite the hotel and well worth a visit Southsea Castle is free and the D Day museum is a few pounds
Can honestly say that we had wonderful weekend ( despite the awful weather )
and are already planning to return next year.
Thanks to all the staff, who are all incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Seacrest Hotel. Our location is wonderful for guests wanting to stay in a quiet area, away from the pubs and nightclubs, yet within easy striking distance of Gunwharf. As you say, we also have many attractions close by with Henry VIII's Southsea Castle just across the road, also the Sealife Centre and D Day Museum. Just along the road we have the Hovercraft to the Isle of Wight and going the other way, my favourite of all, The Royal Marines Museum.

We look forward to your return to the Seacrest, and look forward to welcoming you. Meanwhile, thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed at the Seacrest a few times now and have recommended it to friends. Beautifully clean and fresh rooms, most of which have been recently refurbished. Very comfortable if a little on the small side - although the back room we had first stay, was bigger, but no sea view. Nice hot shower and everything worked.
Breakfast is very good - the cooked English is very tasty, fresh fruit is good, as is the coffee. And even had marmite for the toast! The common areas are well kept and presented. Lift is a little small but works efficiently, though the stairs give better exercise! Staff are lovely, friendly and helpful.
There is a small private car park at the rear, but no rear entrance to hotel, or Seacrest will provide parking permits for parking in front. But this is Southsea, so seagull presents are a common occurence!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very nice and rooms on the upper floor give superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIXOCLOCKTICKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. All our rooms, except the three single rooms which are scheduled for next year, have now been refurbished and it is gratifying to hear that our guests are enjoying them and are starting to return again and again. Thank you so much for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you yet again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We arrived with friends after a long journey via the M25. The welcome was very friendly. The only problem was parking, as the road outside the hotel was full. We had to park around the back of the Hotel, which was quite dark, and the risk of getting "boxed in". However, next morning, we were able to get a space in front of the hotel (with a free parking permit).

Although our rooms were quite small, they were very clean. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely ladies who were serving. Coffee was especially good as was the full English.

It's quite a walk into Portsmouth, but there is plenty to see on the way. The Southsea castle is free to enter.

We would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiz_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it is so nice to hear that our Guests are enjoying staying with us. Regarding the parking, we have free on road parking at the front of the Hotel, but also have a small car park at the rear, which is not as convenient as the front, but is a fail safe if the parking at the front is full. There is no risk of getting boxed in, as we take licence plate numbers of all our Guests cars, but the parking bays are marked anyway, so no one should be blocking anyone in. We look forward to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Property: Seacrest Hotel
Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing