We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We arrived with friends after a long journey via the M25. The welcome was very friendly. The only problem was parking, as the road outside the hotel was full. We had to park around the back of the Hotel, which was quite dark, and the risk of getting "boxed in". However, next morning, we were able to get a space in front of the hotel (with a free parking permit).

Although our rooms were quite small, they were very clean. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely ladies who were serving. Coffee was especially good as was the full English.

It's quite a walk into Portsmouth, but there is plenty to see on the way. The Southsea castle is free to enter.

We would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiz_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it is so nice to hear that our Guests are enjoying staying with us. Regarding the parking, we have free on road parking at the front of the Hotel, but also have a small car park at the rear, which is not as convenient as the front, but is a fail safe if the parking at the front is full. There is no risk of getting boxed in, as we take licence plate numbers of all our Guests cars, but the parking bays are marked anyway, so no one should be blocking anyone in. We look forward to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    217
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
192
467
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was a business trip for me but it would make a nice place to stay for a holiday by the sea. My room was a little on the small side but not a problem as I was alone. The room was very clean and fresh and the staff very helpful. I would recommend a stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JetmasterDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We have many larger rooms at the Hotel, if you book by telephone and let us know your requirements, we will ensure one of our larger rooms are reserved for you. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here over New Years for our anniversary break and we were really happy with our choice. It's a really cute hotel, lovely place to stay and the owners are such friendly and welcoming people. Really loved our stay here, gorgeous room, well decorated with a nice view. Breakfast was really good as well, good quality food which was nice! Loads of information about what to do in the area, and reception will help you with anything, were so helpful to us during our stay. Definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, well worth it, we got a room with a great big window with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
I remember you well. It was kind of you to leave us such a lovely review, especially as the Hotel was supposed to be closed for the Christmas period. We hope you will come again when we are functioning on all cylinders and we will definitely spoil you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Seacrest Hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was perfect for us and the free parking was a bonus. We walked along the coast to the historic dockyard and caught the Number 1 bus back to Southsea so didn't need to use our car.
The breakfasts were very good. We also had dinner one evening and thought that this was very good value for money. For real ale fans, although there is no real ale at the hotel bar there is a pub just round the corner selling a selection of real ales.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 770Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed at the Sea Crest Hotel for an over night stay whilst visiting the Portsmouth Historic Dockyard. We stayed in the family room and thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would recommend The Sea Crest hotel for it's outstanding location, very friendly and helpful staff, and very tasty breakfast with great quality local ingredients.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a sea view well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank l_p_carpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our large family room at the top of the Hotel. The views are beautiful from that floor. We have just had our TV entertainment centres delivered and we have a 40inch digital wall mounted TV earmarked for our family room, whjch should keep the children entertained! Hope you will come and stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Seacrest for an overnight stay whilst visiting friends for an engagement party.
On arrival we were very kindly greeted & promptly booked in.
The room (and the whole hotel) looked like it had been re-vamped very recently to a high standard.
A nice little bar with good priced drinks was a good touch.
And the full English was just cracking. Top marks all round- well done!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leebeemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are hoping that we have been able to fill a need in Portsmouth for an independent family Hotel that offers a flexible range of bedrooms to suit every need at a reasonable price. We have everything from our truly superior rooms, all the way through to our classic rooms, which, although smaller, offer every comfort in a quality setting. We are pleased you enjoyed our new look family room, which is just awaiting its 40 inch TV entertainment centre, which should keep the kids entertained..... We are also happy that you enjoyed our breakfasts. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

we have just come home from a weekend break at the sea crest hotel,a wonderful weekend, the room was lovely,the staff wonderful,we would recommend it,looking forward to staying there again.the staff were very attentive.

Room Tip: higher floors have better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying in one of our newly refurbished bedrooms and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
711 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Property: Seacrest Hotel
Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing